Rural Weird Mix

This story begins many years ago, back in the mid 1990’s to be precise. It concerns a few like-minded music obsessives – namely Messrs Cox, Chaplin and myself who would convene on a monthly basis to play each other a carefully curated selection of tracks from recently acquired LPs. It was a perfect method of discovering new bands or obscure LPs prior to Internet ubiquity and a far more sociable supplement to the countless solitary hours spent in various record shops around the country searching endlessly through piles of musty vinyl. As the years passed, these gatherings became more and more infrequent as they were gradually overtaken by the relentless tide of work, relationships, children and the other trappings of adulthood. And then, they were no more.

At the end of last year however, I decided that the time was right to resurrect these meetings on the rare occasions when our schedules were in alignment and an inaugural session was duly arranged following the customary bunfight required to set a date. In a break from the past, we all agreed on a new format which required the compilation of a playlist based around a theme which would be left as open to interpretation as possible. It was a huge success and so we decided to hold a follow up. Last Friday we held the second of these revived gatherings after a six month break, our suggested theme being ‘Rural Weird’.

For this get-together, I decided to produce a mix which would hopefully provide a fitting soundtrack to the vision in my head. My inspiration initially came from seminal British folk horror films such as The Wicker Man and Blood on Satan’s Claw as I attempted to conjur up a time and place which never really existed. After several weeks of editing down the hours of source material and field recordings I had gathered, I eventually had fifty minutes of bucolic audio nostalgia featuring the occasional unsettling detour. I’m rather pleased with the end result which seemed to lull my friends into a suitably wistful reverie on playback and so I have decided to include a download link below. I hope you enjoy the fruits of my rather pleasurable labour.

Rural Weird Mix Cover

Download the Rural Weird Mix here.

7 thoughts on “Rural Weird Mix

    • unsubscriber 03/06/2013 / 7:44 pm

      Thanks for the comment, I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed my humble offering. Your blog looks very interesting too, I shall have to spend some more time browsing amongst your curios.

      Like

  1. Rik Newman 10/06/2013 / 1:15 pm

    Seamless mix! I enjoyed it – very chilled out. 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 10/06/2013 / 1:30 pm

      Thanks for your kind words Mr Newman, I’m pleased to have provided a enjoyable soundtrack for your relaxation needs. The Rural Weird mix is now big in Switzerland I gather…

      Like

  2. forestpunk 13/07/2013 / 2:54 am

    yesyesyes! can’t wait to listen, sounds a lot up my alley these days. I’m frighteningly obsessed w/ archaic Britannia, wyrd folk, these days. Probably exotica to me, to be honest, but i also have british blood, so maybe its ancestral memory? Past life regression? Burnt in the belly of some Pagan effigy (more likely under the influence of purifying Protestant flames, to be honest). Have you seen Witchfinder General yet? This also reminds me of ‘Rural Psychogeography’ by Flying Saucer Attack, in concept. Can’t wait to throw this on my headphones!

    Like

    • unsubscriber 13/07/2013 / 11:11 am

      I hope you enjoy my humble offering, it’s definitely much better on headphones although I’d love to hear it played in a club setting just to watch people’s reactions! It’s definitely rooted in your concept of ‘wyrd Brittania’ even though there are a number of tracks from the US too. I’ve included dozens of field recordings and other sounds which sit within this theme of a place and time long gone. Witchfynder General is one of my favourite films as are The Wicker Man and Blood on Satan’s Claw – the three finest examples of UK rural horror in my opinion. Feel free to post your reaction after listening, if you want a track list to inform future listening I’ll also be happy to provide it. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

      Like

Leave a Reply

