Giant Robots With Human Brains Fight The Demons’ Wars

A Plague of Demons – Keith Laumer

The past few weeks have been an extremely busy time for me, mainly due to starting a new job after twenty six years of continuous employment. This move has had it’s good points but at my age I wasn’t particularly relishing the upheaval, loss of a familiar routine and becoming the ‘new boy’ once again. Thankfully, everything has worked out just fine (up to now), even if it’s meant cutting down my free time dramatically. None of this has stopped me from reading books and playing records however so it’s time I wrote a few words.

I had never heard of Keith Laumer before coming across this title but one look at the cover told me I needed to add it to my library. As if that wasn’t enough, the following line on the back cover sealed the deal;

“Then the demons, who looked like four pretty girls, killed him.”

This version was published in 1971 by Paperback Library and features a stunning cover by Davis Meltzer who was also responsible for the striking art which graces an Ace repress of Philip K. Dick’s Clans of the Alphane Moon the following year. A giant robot and a human skull? How could I possibly resist?

Plague Demons Front

Plague Demons Back

4 thoughts on “Giant Robots With Human Brains Fight The Demons’ Wars

  1. Joachim Boaz 22/08/2013 / 9:39 pm

    A hilarious cover…. Laumer is rather light-hearted/comic… A little repetitive — but it should be fun.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 22/08/2013 / 9:44 pm

      It’s a cracker isn’t it, I do love my skulls. Looking forward to reading this one, although my ‘to read’ pile is rather large so it might be a while yet!

      Like

  2. lestaret 25/08/2013 / 9:47 pm

    Mmm, skulls! I think I love that line on the back cover even more though, probably more than the story! I’m going to have to raid your library one of these days…

    Like

    • unsubscriber 26/08/2013 / 9:20 pm

      I somehow suspected that you’d enjoy this one Mr Lestaret, although I can’t comment on the contents of the book just yet. You’re more than welcome to inspect the contents of my library whenever you find yourself in the vicinity.

      Like

Leave a Reply

