Something Beginning With ‘A’

One of the many things I look out for in a good book cover is typography. I’m no expert on this subject (although I know a fine chap who is) but I do love a good font! Most of the books I buy are reprints from the 1960s and 1970s (before the airbrushed spaceship became de rigueur and ruined everything for me, artistically speaking) and so the typography can often be described as ‘psychedelic’ to say the least. I recently picked up this fantastic 1967 Panther uniform edition of Asimov works from a rather good bookseller on eBay, each of the three volumes features a groovy letter ‘A’ which contains a suitably ‘far out’ image;

Asimov Currents of Space

Asimov Martian Way

Asimov Earth is Room Enough

4 thoughts on “Something Beginning With ‘A’

  1. Joachim Boaz 28/08/2013 / 7:13 pm

    In my opinion A is for Aldiss, not Asimov — haha….

    Like

    • unsubscriber 28/08/2013 / 7:17 pm

      I’d probably agree with you there Joachim, but great covers nonetheless. I still have a soft spot for Asimov after discovering him in my teens… all those years ago!

      Like

      • Joachim Boaz 28/08/2013 / 7:19 pm

        Definitely! One of my first SF books (around 15 years ago — so, early teens) was Asimov’s Currents of Space…. But since then, I’ve discovered the joys that are Aldiss’, often audacious, visions…

        Like

      • unsubscriber 28/08/2013 / 7:21 pm

        Me too, so many books to read but so little time. I’m still working my way through your recent posts too, some more titles (and covers) to add to my ‘wants’ list I think.

        Like

Leave a Reply

