A William Tenn Reader

I got my first taste of William Tenn through a short story called Null-P which came highly recommended by my fellow vintage paperback obsessive Teece. He had read this story in an anthology many years ago and I was pleased to discover that it also appeared in a recently acquired SF collection by August Derleth. I enjoyed it so much that I decided to find out what else Tenn had written and turned to the Internet Speculative Fiction Database (here) to undertake a little research.

William Tenn mainly wrote short stories, the ISFDB lists no fewer than sixty titles to his credit although he did pen one longform novel called Of Men And Monsters, a rather good review of which can be found on this excellent blog. After spending a while browsing through the list of published works I discovered that five collections of shorts and his sole novel had been issued as a uniform edition in 1968. My hunt began immediately.

A few weeks later, I had been lucky enough to track down five of the books without much trouble but the sixth eluded me. I eventually found a single copy being offered for sale by a US dealer but the price was far too high and he was unwilling to negotiate. It seemed that I had yet another incomplete series on my bookshelves. After learning of this predicament during a conversation about our latest finds, my friend kindly donated his copy to me and the circle was finally complete. This piece is therefore dedicated to Teece with thanks for being a constant source of literary inspiration… amongst many other things!

All the following books were published in 1968 by Ballantine, the artist responsible for the brilliantly psychedelic covers is sadly uncredited.

William Tenn Wooden Star

William Tenn Men And Monsters

William Tenn Seven Sexes

William Tenn Human Angle

William Tenn Square Root Of Man

William Tenn Possible Worlds

2 thoughts on “A William Tenn Reader

  1. Joachim Boaz 24/09/2013 / 8:21 pm

    According to my readers the artist of all those Ballantine editions is Stephen Miller. I haven’t looked to see whether his art was similar or not.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 24/09/2013 / 8:24 pm

      Thanks for that Joachim, I’ll try and look into it… time permitting of course. They’re fantastic covers aren’t they and mostly great stories although I need to devote a little more time to completing the books. Easier said than done these days¡

      Like

Leave a Reply

