Spoken By A Dancer – An Original Asemic Artwork by Lestaret

Some years ago, I commented on a piece of asemic writing work produced by Lestaret (who blogs here by the way) and stated that a large scale work would look excellent framed and hung on a gallery wall. I cheekily mentioned that if he ever fancied producing such a piece then I would most definitely give it room amongst my modest art collection. Since that conversation, Lestaret has gone on to produce three asemic novels (which are still available here), a collaborative graphic novel (more of which at a later date) and countless other pieces of his patented curiology.

A few weeks ago, I received a phone call from the man himself who revealed that he was now working on such a piece for me. I was extremely excited and couldn’t wait to see the results. He kept me updated as to it’s progress during subsequent calls until last week when he told me it was finished and he would be bringing it all the way up from Kings Lynn to Rotherham for me. When he arrived at my house, I gingerly removed the brown paper wrapper to reveal a 40cm by 50cm board literally covered with tiny scraps of recycled paper from old books upon which he had meticulously covered every inch of space with asemic writing. He told me he had carried out the work using many ‘dip and scratch’ type nibbed ink pens which makes this work all the more incredible.

I have now mounted, framed and hung the piece which looks stunning. Every time I pass by it I look and see something different in it’s arcane letterforms and line upon line of text with no meaning. It truly is stunning and so I wanted to share it here in large format so the picture can be zoomed in to capture a little of the detail. It was difficult to photograph obviously because of the glass front hence the reflections and angles but I don’t think this detracts from the artwork as a whole.

I am now a proud owner of a large scale Lestaret original asemic work and I honestly couldn’t be happier. Click on the images below to supersize them;

Lestaret Dancer Angled

Lestaret Dancer Front

5 thoughts on “Spoken By A Dancer – An Original Asemic Artwork by Lestaret

  1. Lestaret 22/05/2014 / 10:26 pm

    Heh heh heh! Looks better now than when I did it! Do I get visiting rights?

    Like

    • unsubscriber 23/05/2014 / 12:46 am

      You’re free to visit the unsubscriber gallery whenever you please Mr Lestaret. Many thanks for adding to the collection, I’m chuffed to bits.

      Like

  2. Postcard Cafe 23/05/2014 / 9:59 am

    WOW!!! What a fantastic piece of work. Many hours have been invested in that and works so well. Our Mr Lestaret is a very clever and talented man. I like the title of the artwork. Great stuff. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 23/05/2014 / 10:02 am

      It’s stunning isn’t it? He spent a great deal of time and effort creating this piece just for me and I’m extremely proud to have it hanging on my wall. Glad you liked it too, Mr Lestaret is indeed a man of many talents…

      Like

Leave a Reply

