Hidden Phlegm Uncovered

Yesterday, my good friend Mr Cafe (who blogs here by the way) took me on an urban ramble to see a few old Phlegm pieces which are a little off the beaten track. I won’t go into any details as to where these paintings reside as they are all rather inaccessible and I feel it’s best just to let them get on with becoming enveloped by the surrounding environment and let nature take her inexorable course.

Needless to say, there was much rustling through the undergrowth, weaving around thick brambles and plenty of nimble footwork involved. Luckily, neither of us sustained even a nettle sting which is quite hard to believe as there were so many of them around us in certain places. We even bumped into a tiny little horse at one point in our wanderings!

My thanks go out to Mr Cafe for being such a genial and knowledgable guide on this tour of secluded and little seen artwork. Here are some of the pictures I took along the way;

(Click on an image for a larger view)

Concrete Blocks

Hidden Phlegm 5

Hidden Phlegm 6

Hidden Phlegm 7

Hidden Phlegm 8

Hidden Phlegm 9

Hidden Phlegm 10

Buildings

Hidden Phlegm 1

Hidden Phlegm 2

Hidden Phlegm 3

Hidden Phlegm 4

Bridges and Waterways

Hidden Phlegm 11

Hidden Phlegm 12

Hidden Phlegm 13

Hidden Phlegm 14

Hidden Phlegm 15

Hidden Phlegm 16

11 thoughts on “Hidden Phlegm Uncovered

  1. sonmicloud 15/06/2014 / 11:08 am

    Oh how I envy you that walk! Phlegm is one of my favourite artists, I’ve followed him for some years and now and have a copy of the book he made recently which I see you mentioned in another post.( I bought it through the old sweet shop yes.). Thank you for the pictures 🙂

    – sonmicloud

    Like

    • unsubscriber 15/06/2014 / 1:18 pm

      You’re more than welcome. I love Phlegm too so it was a real treat to see these hidden pieces lost in the urban wilderness. More Phlegm to come soon. All the best.

      Like

  2. Bernie 15/06/2014 / 11:25 am

    These are absolutely fascinating, the artist deserves accolades and your tour guide a very big thankyou!! The bridges and waterways section was of special interest to me, of course, I do wish we saw stuff like that on our travels, so much more inspiring than the usual graffiti we see. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • unsubscriber 15/06/2014 / 1:24 pm

      You’re most welcome Bernie, my guide was duly heaped with thanks afterwards as well as a well earned cake ‘n’ cuppa at the end of our adventures. It was tough to photograph the riverside artworks as they were so close to the water but I think they came out ok in the end. Phlegm has indeed received many accolades for his work around the world, we’re just lucky to have a lot of it in Sheffield as he lived here for many years.

      Like

  3. Postcard Cafe 15/06/2014 / 3:55 pm

    Nice shots… I’m getting a strange sense of deja vu 😉

    Like

    • unsubscriber 15/06/2014 / 3:57 pm

      Thanks Mr Cafe, I had a great morning thanks to you. I think the pictures came out ok in the end.

      Like

      • Postcard Cafe 15/06/2014 / 4:31 pm

        Indeed your photos look great and make a nice record of our urban ramble. With the high levels of humidity and tall stingers we were lucky to live to tell the tale at all!!! I think you underplayed quite how intrepid we were 😉

        Like

      • unsubscriber 15/06/2014 / 4:34 pm

        We were indeed very intrepid, I should have stated that fact a little more strongly than I did.

        Like

  4. Lestaret 16/06/2014 / 7:55 am

    Oh my brave boys! Ha ha, worth all of the risks though – these are fantastic. I particularly love the concrete blocks – mime made real? And it is good to see that nature shows no favours to art, even the mighty Phlegm – the moss growing up the walls and the undergrowth trying out its limbs as overgrowth. It’s amazing how well this urban street art holds up when the urban element takes a back seat… Lovely images as always, Sir – you and your iPhone are a winning combo.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 16/06/2014 / 11:57 am

      We most certainly were brave, taking on mother nature as we did and putting our very lives at risk for art! I too loved the way that nature was reclaiming the stone and buildings, the profusion of plant life everywhere was astonishing. Glad you enjoyed the photographs Mr Lestaret, there are a few more to come shortly. Thanks for your kinds words as always on these matters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

