Phlegm’s Illuminated Alphabet

It happened again a few weeks ago. A copy of Phlegm’s Illuminated Alphabet book came up on eBay and I foolishly thought I could scoop it by waiting until the dying seconds before entering my bid. By that time of course, the bidding had gone way over what I was prepared to pay and into silly money territory so I had watch as another copy got away from me.

Later in the week, I mentioned this frustration to my good friend Mr Cafe (who blogs here by the way) and was told that he was glad I had missed out on the auction as he had a spare copy which he would be happy to sell to me for the original selling price. I was ecstatic!

The book was produced in a limited edition of 300 copies back in 2011 and was completely hand printed by Phlegm himself. The front cover is a four colour print with a silver foiled letter A on the front and Z on the rear. Each of the illustrations inside depict one of the twenty six letters of the alphabet in either black ink or a shade of blue, all are meticulously drawn with pen and ink. Phlegm has used some of the strange characters which inhabit his worlds to construct some letters, others are formed using animals, trees, plants and other items.

It’s a beautiful book and one which I honestly thought I’d never own but thanks to Mr Cafe’s wonderful generosity I am now a very proud owner of. It’s given me much pleasure so far and is likely to continue doing so for the foreseeable future.

Here are some photos of the book.

Outside and inside covers;

Phlegm Alphabet Front

Phlegm Alphabet Inside Front

Phlegm Alphabet Back

Letters;

Phlegm Alphabet C

Phlegm Alphabet G

Phlegm Alphabet I

Phlegm Alphabet N

Phlegm Alphabet X

Phlegm Alphabet Y

10 thoughts on “Phlegm’s Illuminated Alphabet

  1. Bernie 07/07/2014 / 9:35 am

    What a truly beautiful item, it must surely have instantly become your most treasured possession, and what a wonderful friend Mr Café is, you’re a lucky man!

    Like

    • unsubscriber 07/07/2014 / 10:28 am

      It most certainly is beautiful and very treasured Bernie. I’m lucky to have people like Mr Cafe as friends, that’s for sure.

      Like

  2. Lestaret 09/07/2014 / 8:21 am

    A bit jealous, that’s all I’m prepared to say about this.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 09/07/2014 / 9:39 am

      Thanks Mr Lestaret, it is a beautiful little book.

      Like

    • unsubscriber 10/07/2014 / 9:35 am

      Thanks, it’s a fantastic little book full of Phlegm’s amazing drawings. What more could a man ask for?

      Like

      • franzwesten 10/07/2014 / 9:36 am

        Cleary, spare copies for all his blog followers.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 10/07/2014 / 9:37 am

        I wish I could offer you one franzwesten but I’ve had a nightmare over the past few weeks getting my hands on just the one copy.

        Like

      • franzwesten 10/07/2014 / 9:38 am

        I Know :-). But thanks for uploading the pics, I have enjoyed them this morning.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 10/07/2014 / 9:40 am

        Glad to hear that, it makes me happy to know my efforts are enjoyed by a few good folks.

        Like

Leave a Reply

