A Pair Of Balls

I often come across books which I would otherwise buy if it wasn’t for the garish cover art and so back they go onto their shelf for another unsuspecting customer to discover. Other times my selections can be a bit too close to the borderline for comfort, the Poul Anderson cover confusion post (here) serves as a reminder just how thin the line between good and bad art can be!

And so we come to two books with covers illustrated by Kelly Freas who, while being obviously very technically proficient can produce extremely mixed results.

These two volumes fall into that frustrating category of “is this great cover art or is it merely campy nonsense” and so without offering any thoughts of my own at this stage I’ll let you, my dear readers decide for yourselves – great or groanworthy;

The Regiments Of Night by Brian N. Ball
1972 – Daw
Cover art by Kelly Freas

Ball Regiments Of Night

The Probability Man by Brian N. Ball
1972 – Daw
Cover art by Kelly Freas

Ball Probability Man

8 thoughts on “A Pair Of Balls

  1. Postcard Cafe 21/08/2014 / 8:41 pm

    I think the guy in the green jacket on the cover of The Regiments of Night is David Hunter from Crossroads…! He was last seen in Comic Strip presents Five Go Mad on Mescaline 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 21/08/2014 / 8:46 pm

      I don’t possess a TV and so your comments are a little over my head I’m afraid Mr Cafe but I’ll bow to your knowledge on this subject.

      Like

  2. Lestaret 21/08/2014 / 10:59 pm

    Balls. He he he…. sorry – I’ll grow up for the next comment.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 21/08/2014 / 11:00 pm

      Honestly Mr Lestaret, you’re so cheeky!

      Like

      • Lestaret 21/08/2014 / 11:24 pm

        Sorry. I regress to Beavis & Butthead mentality after 11pm…

        Like

    • unsubscriber 21/08/2014 / 11:44 pm

      Steady on now Mr Letaret, remember the rather nasty false teeth conundrum brought on by a bout of undue hilarity a while back… A difficult time for all those standing close enough I think you’ll agree.

      Like

  3. franzwesten 22/08/2014 / 6:57 am

    I would probably lean toward campy, I like the way the mans innards seem to be falling out of his belt on the second one.

    I do like Freas tho, he did one of my fave covers

    Like

    • unsubscriber 22/08/2014 / 7:45 am

      I’m standing with one foot in the ‘campy’ collective although like much of Freas’s work I initially liked both covers enough to buy them. I guess I’m still a little confused…

      Like

Leave a Reply

