From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.1, 100th Post

This article represents something of a milestone in my brief time as a blogger, you are currently reading my 100th post! Yes, it all started back in January 2013 when I began to throw out regular missives into the digital void, unsure as to whether anyone would want to listen to my musical ramblings and look at pictures of vintage paperbacks. I had no idea what I was aiming for back then but I think I have a much clearer idea now thankfully. I’m glad to say that a few of you still keep on coming back for more and so I continue photographing books and inserting the odd comment about my beloved odd music. I’d like to take this opportunity to say a big thanks to anyone who has read, liked or commented on a post at any time in the past. It makes my little endeavour here all the more worthwhile.

And so I wanted to do something a bit special for this centenary piece, maybe a cracking theme to knock your eyes out! I must confess though I’m finding it a little difficult to keep putting together themes after multiple raids on my library for collections of linked covers. I’ve written about skulls, heads (twice), the odd box set, horror collections, the female form, hardback books and a number of individual authors & artists but it’s becoming increasingly hard to present half a dozen or so visually connected cover designs.

And so I decided that it was time to throw open the doors of my library to the general public and produce an ongoing series of much looser collections. These will be recently acquired and randomly selected books from my library shelves which may be completely unconnected by their cover art other than being brilliant (or bonkers) examples of design. I can then slip in a few other more thematically inclined posts whilst I present these glimpses into my ever expanding collection.

I hope you enjoy this series as much as I’ve enjoyed putting the first few instalments together. Here’s the first batch of five covers to tantalise and titillate, feel free to comment;

The Bromius Phenomenon by John Rankine
1973 – Ace Books
Cover art by T. Upshar

Rankine The Bromius Phenomenon

The Genocides by Thomas M. Disch
1979 – Panther Granada
Cover artist uncredited

Disch The Genocides

The Synthetic Man by Theodore Sturgeon
1961 – Pyramid Books
Cover art by Lester Krause

Sturgeon The Synthetic Man

Planet Of No Return by Poul Anderson
1971 – Tandem
Cover artist not credited

Anderson Planet Of No Return

Possess & Conquer by Wenzell Brown
1975 – Warner Books
Cover art by Charles Moll

Brown Possess & Conquer

6 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.1, 100th Post

    • unsubscriber 01/09/2014 / 7:11 am

      Nicely psychedelic, just right for a Monday morning to go with your sugar puffs!

      Like

      • Lestaret 01/09/2014 / 7:12 am

        You leave my Sugar Puffs out of this.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 01/09/2014 / 7:23 am

        I wouldn’t dream of touching another man’s sugar puffs so early in the morning! Later on during the day maybe…

        Like

  1. franzwesten 01/09/2014 / 8:37 am

    Congratulations, I will ask Brian May to send you a letter. I feel I have to read Possess & Conquer, just to find out why the gentleman is holding a dagger with a big ball on the end.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 01/09/2014 / 8:46 am

      Thanks for the compliment Franzwesten, a letter from the poodle-haired, fireplace guitar wielding one would look great next to my framed Patrick Moore monocle! I could tell you why the gentlemen in question is holding the aforementioned weaponry on the cover of Possess and Conquer but I’d have to kill you afterwards,merely as a gesture of honour you understand. All the best.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

