From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.3, This Week’s Latest Additions

I needed a bit of cheering up last weekend and so I put the kettle on, helped myself to a couple of chocolate biscuits and settled down with eBay on my iPad. I was hoping she wasn’t going to be in a fickle and obnoxious mood as is sometimes her inclination. As I sipped my tea however I had a good feeling about this session and before long I had quite a few books on my ‘Watch’ list. Before the hour was over, I had bought several titles and was bidding on quite a few more. Cheered on by this lucky streak I helped myself to another cup of tea – in a much more cavalier style than I had done before!

It was only a few days later before my hallway started filling with those lovely bookish parcels ready to have their sealed flaps gently teased open to reveal their beautiful, delicate contents. (steady on now old chap! This is starting to sound like an exercise in literary eroticism now so I’ll end these thoughts right here!) The following five titles were amongst the first batch to arrive but I have had more parcels arrive this morning already and am expecting next week to bear similar fruit.

I just wanted you, my kind readers and fellow vintage paperback cover aficionados to be the first to enjoy these brand new additions to my humble library. I’ll post more newly acquired books when time allows, I have plenty more great covers to share with you all yet.

Your erudite comments on these matters are as ever always welcome;

Budrys’ Inferno by Algis Budrys
This version was published in 1963 by Berkley Medallion
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Budrys Budrys' Inferno

Babel 17 by Samuel R. Delany
This version was published in 1969 by Sphere
The cover artist is Bill Botton

Delany Babel 17

Player Piano by Kurt Vonnegut, Jr.
This version was published in 1969 by Panther
The cover artist is Alan Aldridge

Vonnegut Player Piano

Fourth Mansions by R. A. Lafferty
This version was published in 1975 by Panther
The cover artist is Leo Dillon and Diane Dillon

Lafferty Fourth Mansions

The Sentinel Stars by Louis Charbonneau
This version was published in 1974 by Corgi
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

Charbonneau The Sentinel Stars

9 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.3, This Week’s Latest Additions

  1. Joachim Boaz 14/09/2014 / 7:03 pm

    Yeah, Powers sends chills down my neck ALMOST every time I see his work…

    All three are intriguing. I put together a really disturbing “inside the head” (I think we discussed it) post a while back — that Player Piano cover works perfectly

    Like

    • unsubscriber 14/09/2014 / 7:08 pm

      I totally agree with your Powers comment, I’m trying to narrow down my six favourites to photograph for framing. Tough job!

      Glad you liked the Vonnegut cover, I think it’s brilliant. Surprised that it was by Alan Aldridge though.

      Like

  2. franzwesten 15/09/2014 / 9:49 am

    The unmistakeable Alan Aldridge! Wonderful selection as ever. Is that Josh Kirby of Pratchett fame btw?

    Like

    • unsubscriber 15/09/2014 / 10:53 am

      Thanks for the kind words, I’m glad you like the Aldridge cover as much as I do! Kirby is indeed of later Pratchett fame – I don’t know much about this period of his work but have a very well informed friend who does, hopefully she’ll comment on the post at some point. I thought it had a Richard Powers look about it when I first saw it.

      Like

      • Bernie 16/09/2014 / 11:29 am

        I’m assuming you mean me 🙂 I intended to comment when this first appeared in my inbox but got sidetracked 😦 Josh did a load of work in the 50s and 60s ages before he got into the TP nonsense. Don’t get me wrong, I love TP, but I much prefer Josh’s earlier work over his TP stuff.

        He also did several Bradbury covers in this ilk, and his James Whites are a joy, here’s an example https://www.flickr.com/photos/pulpcrush/9297627839/

        I also love the Powers ones. I have a new acquaintance in the US who tells me there are around 1000 to collect, and that she’s reached the stage where a king’s ransom would be required to complete her collection. Are you jealous? Lol!!

        Like

      • unsubscriber 16/09/2014 / 11:35 am

        I was indeed alluding to you and your somewhat encyclopaedic knowledge of Mr Kirby’s output Bernie. The cover you linked to is fantastic, another for the list I reckon.

        I am indeed jealous (just ever so slightly) of your US acquaintance’s Powers collection. I probably have around 80-100 covers now but 1000 is mind-blowing! That’s one target I’ll never get to I think… Take care Bernie xx

        Like

  3. Bernie 16/09/2014 / 2:51 pm

    Not as encyclopaedic as I thought!! That’s the only James White I can find!! He did, however, do covers for New Writings in SF 11,12 and 13, number 12 illustrating a James White story! I’ll get back in my box now and keep quiet for a while 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 16/09/2014 / 3:02 pm

      It’s always a great pleasure to hear from you Bernie, your knowledge of Mr Kirby certainly outstrips mine! Stay out of that box…

      Like

Leave a Reply

