From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.4, A Slightly More Arbitrary Selection

Last week’s display of literary goodies was chosen quite carefully from the new additions to my library – I even feel like the postman helped write the article in no small way due him bringing me so many fantastic new books. This time around though I have tried to be as arbitrary in my selection as was humanly possible and think I’ve ended up with another rather intriguing collection. I may experiment with Junior subscriber in the coming weeks and see what she manages to pick blindly from the shelves!

See what you think of this week’s random pick of books from the humble shelves of the unsubscriber library;

Tomorrow Sometimes Comes by F. G. Rayer
1962 – Icon Books Ltd
Cover art by Raymond E. Meylan

Rayer Tomorrow Sometimes Comes Front

The Age Of The Pussyfoot by Frederik Pohl
1969 – Ballantine Books
Cover art by Robert Foster

Pohl Age Of The Pussyfoot

Breakthrough by John Iggulden
1963 – Four Square Books
Cover artist not credited

Iggulden Breakthrough

One Against Time by Astron del Martia
Date of publication unknown – Trojan
Cover artist not credited

del martia One Against Time

Man Plus by Frederik Pohl
1978 – Panther/Granada
Cover art by Peter Gudynas

Pohl Man Plus

6 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.4, A Slightly More Arbitrary Selection

  1. Lestaret 22/09/2014 / 10:30 am

    Love the Robert Foster cover – classic use of Letraset for the title!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 22/09/2014 / 10:35 am

      I’m glad that one was to your taste Mr L, I always aim to give a little something to everyone in my posts!

      Like

  2. Bernie 22/09/2014 / 10:57 am

    I’m impressed (though unsurprised) by Mr L’s recognition of Letraset usage.

    I liked the background of One Against Time, wondered if I might like to read it so went digging on fantasticfiction.co.uk and discovered the author is John Russell Fearn. Too much JRF will fry your brain, but oh what memories that name evokes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 22/09/2014 / 11:05 am

      Mr L is an absolute font of knowledge in this particular area I think you’ll find Bernie…

      One Against Time was written under the rather superb pen name Astron Del Martia by JRF and Stephen Frances. As for frying my brains – I think it’s probably a bit too late to start caring about that now! xx

      Like

      • Bernie 22/09/2014 / 11:20 am

        Mine too!! I cut my SF reading teeth on US comics such as Weird Tales, followed by Badger Books mostly from the master brain-fryer Lionel Fanthorpe 🙂 You know, if I ever get my eBay sorted out my next project has to be a blog of my own xx

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 22/09/2014 / 11:23 am

        You should definitely consider doing a blog Bernie, I’d love to see some of those Fanthorpe/Badger covers!! xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

