Tuesday’s Box Of Retro

Sometimes the postie brings me lots of individual packages which flood my hallway enticingly as I descend the stairs for my first cuppa of the day. On other occasions when larger packages won’t fit through the letterbox, she knocks as loudly as a police woman to get my attention – it always works. This morning was one of those situations. I hadn’t felt too good in the night and was taking a cup of tea back to bed when my eternally smiling postwoman rattled loudly at the door. She passed on a single, large package and left smiling to complete her round.

I didn’t open the box straight away as I needed more sleep but later when I did, I couldn’t believe how  ‘in tune’ the half dozen titles inside looked together on the table. I was so amazed by the retro covers that I couldn’t resist quickly writing this article to show you what I mean.

My eternal thanks goes out to the eBay seller (who shall remain anonymous) but I will send him an email of great thanks for this lovely box of top quality retro literature that has completely turned my Tuesday afternoon around.

What do think of the connection here? Drop me a comment and let me know.

That Hideous Strength by C. S. Lewis
This version was published in 1963 by Pan Books
The cover artist is S. R. Boldero

Lewis That Hideous Strength

Voyage To Venus by C. S. Lewis
This version was published in 1963 by Pan Books
The cover artist is uncredited, possibly S. R. Boldero

Lewis Voyage To Venus

Out Of The Silent Planet by C. S. Lewis
This version was published in 1963 by Pan Books
The cover artist is uncredited, possibly S. R. Boldero

Lewis Out Of The Silent Planet

The Unsleep by Diana & Meir Gillon
This version was published in 1963 by Four Square Books Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Gillon The Unsleep

The Changeling by A. E. van Vogt
This version was published in 1969 by Macfadden
The cover artist is Jack Faragasso

van Vogt The Changeling

The Man Who Wanted Stars by Dean McLaughlin
This version was published in 1968 by Lancer Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

Mclaughlin The Man Who Wanted Stars

9 thoughts on “Tuesday’s Box Of Retro

  1. franzwesten 23/09/2014 / 8:02 pm

    What a charming cover on “The Unsleep!” Favourite.. probably “The Changeling”! Thanks as ever for the posting. I am wondering whether to purchase the new Faber Aickman editions, the covers are lovely.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 23/09/2014 / 8:12 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the covers Franz, The Unsleep would probably be my fave at a push but they’re all fantastic. Must check out those new edition covers, very intrigued now.

      Like

  2. Iain McGeachy 24/09/2014 / 8:58 am

    Delighted that you enjoyed the package – always glad when books go to a ‘good home’.
    Never thought of looking at the covers as art form in their own right but when you display them as above can see there a particular genre. Cheers
    Iain

    Like

    • unsubscriber 24/09/2014 / 9:34 am

      I was absolutely delighted Iain, what a box a treasures it turned out to be. If you truly want to see the humble book cover as an art form then stick around, that’s the aim of my humble blog. Best wishes and thanks again.

      Like

  3. Bernie 24/09/2014 / 11:08 am

    I’ve always loved that particular set of the Lewis trilogy, wonderful artwork, and I’m sure you’re right about them all being by the same artist. Those aside, my favourite is the Kelly Freas.

    Iain McGeachy, I’m assuming you’re the eBay seller referred to in the opening paragraph. I’m surprised you’ve never looked at book covers as an art form, it’s always been the first thing I look at, even now when I’m no longer buying but instead selling my collection for space reasons.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 24/09/2014 / 12:42 pm

      It was the Lewis trilogy that started me off on this little run of purchases actually Bernie. Those are beautiful covers. There are a lot of us strange folks out here that love a good book but with a great cover Iain.

      Hope you’re ok Bernie xx

      Like

      • Iain McGeachy 24/09/2014 / 1:06 pm

        Have kept hard backs- especially turn of the century ones – for their embossed and sometimes gilded artwork. Admired the sf covers and but did not take the next step as seeing them as period pieces – didn’t separate the cover from the book in the sense of seeing the cover as a collectable in its own right.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 24/09/2014 / 1:16 pm

        At least you sound like you have a good collection assembled Iain. The SF covers of the 50s, 60s and 70s are the most sought after – especially the more outlandish ones which I collect. I just love the feeling and smell you get from a musty old book that you could never get from a Kindle! I suppose I’m in a funny minority but as I said earlier, there are a few of us left. Best wishes.

        Like

  4. Guy 20/08/2016 / 4:59 pm

    Love the Lewis covers, the artist has a really interesting style.

    All the best
    Guy

    Like

Leave a Reply

