The Joy Of Text

A few weeks ago I wrote about a pretty fertile night I had amongst the virtual denizens of eBay (here) and ended up winning a larger number of cheeky bids than usual. This week has seen a veritable avalanche of book-sized parcels come tumbling through my eager letterbox to bring a little more joy into my otherwise dull life.

I’ve purposefully chosen eight of the most beautiful and a few downright strange covers from this present cache but there will be many more to come in time. Even as I type these words, a number of eBay auctions are inexorably ticking down to a close.

I hope you enjoy this small offering of covers, please feel free to comment;

The Non Statistical Man by Raymond F. Jones
This version was published in 1965 by Brown, Watson
The cover artist is uncredited

This is another book I already own (a 1964 Belmont first edition) with uncredited, Richard Powers influenced artwork. This cover is just totally beautiful and again very Powers styled but, like the version published before it, also has an uncredited artist. I’m more than happy to have these two gorgeous books in my library, I just wish I knew who painted the covers!

Jones The Non Statistical Man

Nine By Laumer by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1970 by Sphere
The cover artist is uncredited

Laumer Nine By Laumer

The Hero Of Downways by Michael G. Coney
This version was published in 1973 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

Coney The Hero Of Downways

The Alley God by Philip José Farmer
This version was published in 1962 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Farmer The Alley God

The Country Of The Mind by Dan Morgan
This version was published in 1975 by Corgi
The cover artist is uncredited

I’m not sure that the toupee is fooling anyone my friend, it clearly has wings and a beak. It’s a bird isn’t it chum?

Morgan The Country Of The Mind

The Seed Of Earth by Robert Silverberg
This version was published in 1977 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Don Ivan Punchatz

A cosmic shower of evil looking red-eyed baldies with dandelion clock wigs – what’s not to like about this cover?

Silverberg The Seed Of Earth

Beyond Infinity by Alan E. Nourse
This version was published in 1964 by Corgi
The cover artist is Josh Kirby (Thanks for the amendment Bernie!)

Nourse Beyond Infinity

The Space Egg by Russ Winterbotham
The year in which this version was released is not disclosed. Published by Priory
The cover artist is uncredited

I love the cover blurb;

“Mysterious indestructible eggs. Threatening mankind.”

It may just be my sense of humour at work here but does anyone else find the concept of mysterious, indestructible cosmic eggs threatening mankind slightly worthy of a snigger? Maybe it’s just me. I fancy an omelette now for some reason…

Winterbotham The Space Egg

8 thoughts on “The Joy Of Text

  1. Bernie 02/10/2014 / 1:29 am

    Another weird and wonderful selection, always great to see arriving in my mailbox, but when do you find the time for anything else?! Grabbing up my Kirby “bible” I was able to confirm my suspicions, your unidentified Corgi cover for the Nourse is indeed another by the master 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 02/10/2014 / 10:22 am

      Thanks Bernie, glad hear you keep enjoying the covers. I try to get more things done during the day but it always end up book related anyway! I’ve changed the Alan E. Nourse entry to reflect the benefit of your wisdom too,many thanks xx

      Like

  2. Postcard Cafe 02/10/2014 / 10:16 am

    Another great set of covers.
    I think Edwina Currie read The Space Egg to pep up her affair with John Major and then she forgot it was a work of fiction and threw the country into panic with the great egg scare of the 80’s. She then either thought that eggs were going to take over the world or she was trying to distract us from the affair! Who knows? As with the book most things politicians say are works of fiction… 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 02/10/2014 / 10:24 am

      You may well have a point there Mr C… Glad you enjoyed the covers too.

      Like

  3. Joachim Boaz 02/10/2014 / 12:04 pm

    I’ve long been in love with that Kirby cover for The Hero Of Downways by Michael G. Coney. Coney isn’t a half bad author either — although that one is supposedly his weakest and least inspired.

    Like

  4. Joachim Boaz 02/10/2014 / 12:04 pm

    …and I want a copy of The Alley God — love Farmer’s early stuff.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 02/10/2014 / 12:47 pm

      Nice to know I have a few books you want this time around Joachim. They do seem to pop up in the weirdest places too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

