An Anthology Of Anthologies (Part Three)

It seems like I’ve spent quite some time writing about sci-fi anthologies over the past few months and I suppose I have, parts one and two are here if you’re interested. Here we are now at part three and I’m still finding interesting collections to share with you. I honestly never realised I had so many anthologies on my bookshelves and I’ve been dipping into them regularly since rediscovering their joys after writing the first few articles. I suppose I’ve come to see them as a palette cleanser between main course novels, a book to pick up and put down over short breaks in anticipation for a main event.

Well, before I get too bogged down in metaphor here is another selection of tasty anthologies to get your teeth stuck into (sorry, couldn’t resist another couple of food-related quips there).

I hope you’re still enjoying this mini-series as much as I am researching the books, your comments as to favourites are as always very much appreciated;

World’s Best Science Fiction Third Series edited by Donald A. Wollheim and Terry Carr
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

Anthology World's Best Science Fiction 3RD Series

New Worlds Science Fiction, #119 June edited by John Carnell
This version was published in 1962 by Nova Publications Ltd.
The cover artist is Brian Lewis

Anthology New Worlds Science Fiction

The Outer Reaches edited by August Derleth
This version was published in 1963 by Consul Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology The Outer Reaches

Hell’s Cartographers edited by Brian W. Aldiss and Harry Harrison
This version was published in 1976 by Orbit/Futura
The cover artist is uncredited

This fine cover is basically just wall to wall skeletons, I’d think I’d have bought it if it had been a pictorial history of the minor tributary waterways of East Anglia. I really do love a good skull.

Anthology Hell's Cartographers

Penguin Science Fiction edited by Brian Aldiss
This version was published in 1958 by Penguin Books
The cover artist is Brian Keogh

Anthology Aldiss

The Other Side Of The Moon edited by August Derleth
This version was published in 1966 by Mayflower-Dell
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology The Other Side Of The Moon

The World That Couldn’t Be edited by H. L. Gold
This version was published in 1963 by Permabooks
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology The World That Couldn't Be

The Time Of Infinity edited by August Derleth
This version was published in 1963 by Consul Books
The cover art is credited to ‘Adams’

Anthology The Time Of Infinity

11 thoughts on “An Anthology Of Anthologies (Part Three)

  1. Bernie 08/10/2014 / 12:43 pm

    Ooh I love to see one of your offerings arriving in my inbox!! My favourite cover this time is The Outer Reaches, makes me think of alien skeletons on the march in single file 🙂 Derleth, 🙂 🙂 wonderful anthologies he did, and have you seen this cover for one of his

    http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/d/august-derleth/tales-of-cthulhu-mythos-volume-1.htm

    I often wonder if you bought any of your books from me, I’ve never kept a record of what people actually buy, but I often wish I had!! I see a familiar cover in your blog and wonder . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 08/10/2014 / 12:52 pm

      Glad to hear that missives are still bringing a little joy to a few folk Bernie. Outer Reaches is great isn’t it – very surreal but frustratingly uncredited. I have quite a few Derleths in my collection too so watch out for a few more instalments.

      Thanks for sending on the Lovecraft link but I have both volumes in that set already – I’m a real Lovecraft bore! It’s appreciated though.

      I’m sure your books keep cropping up Bernie, I’ll have to check out your eBay page again soon and see what you have floating around.

      Take care xx

      Like

  2. Joachim Boaz 08/10/2014 / 3:41 pm

    I think Brian Lewis is one of the underrated surrealist SF cover artists. Perhaps because he did not do much else other than New Worlds magazine…

    (I think you should review some of these tantalizing offerings)

    Like

    • unsubscriber 08/10/2014 / 4:01 pm

      I agree, his work is sublime. I’d love to do some reviews but there are much better folk than me doing a sterling job. I couldn’t possibly follow in your footsteps Joachim. Keep up the good work and I’ll stick to the covers. All the best my friend.

      Like

      • Joachim Boaz 08/10/2014 / 4:23 pm

        But I also read reviews as well to find books that should be read… And my early reviews were much crappier — it’s something one hones over time.

        (still waiting for reviews. hehe)

        Like

  3. Postcard Cafe 08/10/2014 / 5:37 pm

    Still getting a lot of enjoyment from your blog posts. For me todays winner is The World That Couldn’t Be! Everything about the cover works to invite the reader into the pages of the book. Simple bold graphics which without the tell tale signs like 2/6, one might think it came from a much later period. Hell’s Cartographers wins the best title award and you know that whoever came up with the title had a big devilish grin. They knew its one that people wouldn’t forget in a hurry. The booby prize in this series goes to The Other Side of The Moon – I think the artist remains uncredited because they simply didn’t try to make an interesting cover. If they had submitted it as homework from school the teacher would have written “See me” on it. All in all another great blog post so you can go to the top of the class 😉

    Like

    • unsubscriber 08/10/2014 / 6:13 pm

      Such kind words Mr Cafe and very much appreciated that my humble efforts are enjoyed by a few like-minded folk out there in internet land. I totally agree with all you said about this batch of covers, The World That Couldn’t Be is one of my all time favourites due to its timeless, vaguely spirographic design. As for Hell’s Cartographers, I do love love a good skull and this one is packed full of the damned things! Thanks again for the kind words Mr C, hope you’re keeping well.

      Like

  4. Guy 13/07/2015 / 1:04 am

    Hi

    I am a big Lovecraft Derleth fan so those covers were nice to see. I really liked the Lewis cover for New Worlds and the Penguin cover by Keogh really speaks to me even though I not sure why. I did just buy a bunch of Wyndham Penguins even though I had other editions so that might indicate some unexplained affinity for the Penguin SF covers. Just part of the joy of book collection I guess.

    Regards
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 13/07/2015 / 3:02 am

      Thanks again, you’re really a fan of the anthology then I’m guessing. I too am a huge collector of Penguin SF, search the site to see thirteen fabulous covers by David Pelham and a recently completed collection of Penguin titles with covers by Italian experimental photographer Franco Grignani. You’re right about the joys of collecting books Guy, it never stops! Wishing you the best as ever.

      Like

Leave a Reply

