What The? #13… Stop This Madness Now!

An occasional series of book covers whose outlandish design evokes bafflement and confusion in equal measure.

Timepivot by Brian N. Ball
1970 – Ballantine Books
Cover art by Tom Adams

And finally, words almost elude me for this final entry in the series. A naked woman composed of a gigantic ear and nose stands in the foreground on a beach where some folks are clearly enjoying themselves frolicking in the sea as a large bloodshot eyeball stares down at them all unblinkingly.

Seriously, I really have to stop this series now before I besmirch my somewhat delicate sensibilities…

Ball Timepivot

12 thoughts on “What The? #13… Stop This Madness Now!

  1. Lestaret 11/10/2014 / 10:31 am

    Amazing. I tried to compose a witty response but am lost for words…

    Like

    • unsubscriber 11/10/2014 / 2:12 pm

      It’s just… well, what the f**k indeed. Now you see why I can’t go any further than this. It stops here!

      Like

  2. Bernie 11/10/2014 / 11:21 am

    That must be a first for you Mr Lestaret!! Same applies here but for me it often does, I think of something witty ages afterwards 🙂 This time, gobsmacked about covers it!

    Like

    • unsubscriber 11/10/2014 / 2:14 pm

      I’m not sure it’s worthy of a witty response Bernie, just an almighty “Huh!!!” Very, very odd indeed. Hope you’re well xx

      Like

  3. J.W. Kurtz 12/10/2014 / 9:31 pm

    Brilliant! Oh…to have been in the room when the artist/agent/publisher showed it to the author for the first time. AND to see the ones that were rejected!!!

    Like

    • unsubscriber 12/10/2014 / 9:44 pm

      Thanks for the comment Mr Kurtz. That’s always my train of thought. How the hell did this get chosen and what were the rejections like. I’d love to have a look through all the artwork not deemed suitable enough, wouldn’t you?

      Like

      • J.W. Kurtz 12/10/2014 / 9:52 pm

        Absolutely! There has to be a warehouse like in Raiders of the Lost Ark that is chalk full of rejected cover art. The stuff from the 60s and 70s must be absolutely outstanding.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 12/10/2014 / 9:55 pm

        I’d like to think so too, mind you I have featured some pretty far out stuff from that period elsewhere on the blog and there’s much more to come so stay tuned…

        Liked by 1 person

  4. franzwesten 13/10/2014 / 9:25 am

    Perhaps the publisher purchased loads of these (akin to blank cards suitable to any occasion) and offered them to authors as bespoke designs… said authors being to shocked to respond…

    Like

    • unsubscriber 13/10/2014 / 12:34 pm

      Blimey, imagine someone sending you one of these freakish cards through the post! Actually, publishers like Digit and Badger used to work in a very odd way. The staffing writers were given the cover artwork first and had a few weeks in which to complete the novel. It’s like the cover dictating the book.

      Like

  5. lcmt 14/10/2014 / 10:38 pm

    I laughed when I saw this book cover, which I picked up recently for its puzzling qualities of repulsion and attraction.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 14/10/2014 / 10:47 pm

      Another act of meaningful randomness. It’s a strange book which I still haven’t got round to reading as yet – I buy far more than I can keep up with to be honest! Repulsion and attraction are both completely on the mark for me, not to mention a large spoonful of good old mind fuckery!

      Like

Leave a Reply

