An Anthology Of Anthologies (Part Four)

Following the relative success of my three previous anthology articles (here, here and here), I decided to have a further dig around in my collection of anthologies and see what else I had which may be of interest. It wasn’t long before I had a further eight books ready to be photographed and catalogued for this fourth instalment. There were no more Groff Conklin titles lurking amongst the shelves that I could see in the inadequate light (I was sure I had a few more) but fortunately I did manage to slip in a rogue Judith Merril collection with a very bizarre cover plus a rather fetching wraparound featuring a cheeky skull/planet combination.

Here is number four in my anthology of anthologies, do any immediate favourites stand out for you?

Orbit One edited by Damon Knight
This version was published in 1967 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology Orbit One

Orbit Two edited by Damon Knight
This version was published in 1970 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology Orbit 2

Antigrav edited by Philip Strick
This version was published in 1975 by Arrow Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology Antigrav

New Dimensions 2 edited by Robert Silverberg
This version was published in 1974 by Avon Books
The cover artist is Ron Walotsky

Anthology New Dimensions 2

The Year’s Best Science Fiction No.3 edited by Harry Harrison and Brian Aldiss
This version was published in 1970 by Sphere Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology The Year's Best Science Fiction

10th Annual S-F edited by Judith Merril
This version was published in 1967 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology 10th Annual SF

From Other Worlds edited by August Derleth
This version was published in 1964 by Four Square Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology From Other Worlds

Best SF Stories From New Worlds 6 edited by Michael Moorcock
This version was published in 1970 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Enzo Ragazzini

Anthology Best SF Stories From New Worlds 6

9 thoughts on “An Anthology Of Anthologies (Part Four)

  1. Joachim Boaz 16/10/2014 / 3:36 pm

    Going to steal that skull for my next skull themed post 😉

    Like

    • unsubscriber 16/10/2014 / 3:42 pm

      Feel free to borrow it my friend, it’s a beauty of a wraparound cover too isn’t it? I have some posts concerning books with wraparound covers coming up soon so keep your eyes peeled!

      Like

  2. Bernie 17/10/2014 / 11:39 am

    Looking at the anthology aspect, I think the Merrill would have to be favourite. Looking at the cover art aspect, I’m sorry to say it’s not your most inspirational selection, but the wraparound skull/planet combo has it over the others in spades! Now then, can I guess who your first wraparound featured artist might be 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 17/10/2014 / 5:34 pm

      Thanks for the comment Bernie, glad you liked the wraparound cover, I reckon your guess for first subject will be correct regrading the other articles I have planned. I’ve actually used a few of the books before in other articles but not as wraparounds so it might be seen as a bit of a cheat but I think they’re stunning anyway. I’ll reply to your email asap, today has been one of those days for me unfortunately! Take care xx

      Like

  3. lcmt 18/10/2014 / 6:34 pm

    I like the the Moorcock, ed., cover very much. I am susceptible to rays, stripes, discs and degraded print techniques. And I am fond of the Merril, ed., cover for its naive photo collage. Teeth mountains, how can you not love that?

    Like

    • unsubscriber 18/10/2014 / 7:16 pm

      Glad to hear you found a few interesting items amongst my books. I hope I can keep you interested with my future selections. Take care.

      Like

  4. johncnash 19/10/2014 / 10:47 pm

    I love the look of that Four Square Derleth anthology! I have one from the same series called Worlds of Tomorrow.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 19/10/2014 / 10:52 pm

      It’s a great cover isn’t it? Unfortunately I still haven’t got round to reading it as yet – life gets in the way far too much to allow me to indulge my reading habits as they should be. I’m sure I have a copy of Worlds Of Tomorrow too somewhere but it’s far too late to start trawling the shelves so please forgive my idleness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

