An Anthology Of Anthologies (Part Five – The Final Chapter)

After compiling a total of four previous articles covering SF anthologies (here, herehere and here if you’re interested in seeing more) I mistakenly thought that I had exhausted the subject for the time being and was happy to end things there. Then a few days ago I was indulging in a little blog post-related housekeeping when I discovered that I’d used a couple of rather striking anthologies in wholly unrelated earlier articles and this got me to thinking… Wouldn’t it be best to combine all of these books together under an easily identifiable heading for ease of use? And so part Five of this series was conceived to display a couple of previously published covers, some newly acquired additions and a few remaining unseen library favourites. I hope this seems more like a worthwhile exercise in reorganisation than merely a bit of lazy recycling.

Here are the eight books I’ve chosen, let me know your favourites in the comments;

Imagination Unlimited edited by F. Bleiler and T. E. Dikty
This version was published in 1966 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

bleiler-dikty-imagination-unlimited

Alternities edited by David Gerrold
This version was published in 1974 by Dell Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology Alternities

Impulse, March 1966 edited by Kyril Bonfiglioni
This version was published in 1966 by Roberts & Vinter Publishing Ltd.
The over artist is Judith Anne Lawrence

Anthology Impulse

Science Fiction Terror Tales edited by Groff Conklin
This version was published in 1969 by Pocket Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology Science Fiction Terror Tales

Things edited Ivan Howard
This version was published in 1965 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover art is by signed ‘Jacks

Anthology Things

Four For The Future edited by Harry Harrison
This version was published in 1974 by Quartet books
The cover artist is Patrick Woodroffe

A human skull that transforms into a heart against a psychedelic backdrop, what’s not to like? Mr Woodroffe, you are my hero of the day sir.

anthology-four-for-the-future

Window On The Future edited by Douglas Hill
This version was published in 1970 by Pan Books
The cover artist is  W. F. Phillipps

Anthology Window On The Future

Possible Tomorrows edited by Groff Conklin
This version was published in 1973 by Coronet Books
The cover artist is uncredited

This extremely odd artwork was clearly perpetrated by the same team who came up with the frankly bizarre Poul Anderson series from the previous year also via Coronet which can be seen (here) if you’re feeling brave enough!

Anthology Possible tomorrows

10 thoughts on “An Anthology Of Anthologies (Part Five – The Final Chapter)

  1. johncnash 24/10/2014 / 10:30 am

    I particularly like the cover for ‘impulse’. Lots of mid-20th century designery goodness there, nice typeface too. And it’s got Ballard in it, splendid stuff!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 24/10/2014 / 10:51 am

      Those were precisely the very reasons I purchased it on the day good Sir – it would seem we are men of similar buying habits across the genres perhaps. Hope you’re well.

      Like

  2. Bernie 24/10/2014 / 11:35 am

    Bleiler and Dikty book – another wonderful Powers cover, I used to have two copies of this, different cover design but the same artwork, cut short on the ist edition, reinstated to it’s full glory on this reprint. I also like the Impulse cover, the background is quite similar to the Powers one!

    The Pan cover is my favourite in this batch, because I love the actual cover design. There were several Pan books with the same style, and all as far as I can remember, with the Phillipps artwork as well. I had quite a few of them once upon a time 🙂 The website tikit.net was set up by a fan of Pan books and it’s searchable, loads of information in there if you have the time to go wandering round it. I’ve just had a quick look to confirm my memory and I’ve discovered Phillipps did quite a few of the Pan Books of Horror series as well! Several of which I also used to have. If you have time go take a look, loads of skulls there for you.

    Your blogs always seem to send me off trawling the internet, no wonder I’m not getting my books listed (but see my recent email for more on that matter 🙂 )

    Thanks for another lovely flight of fancy!! xx

    Like

    • unsubscriber 24/10/2014 / 12:18 pm

      Hi Bernie, always a pleasure to read your comments. I had the very same version of Imagination Unlimited then saw this uncropped version for a few quid so had so have it. I passed my copy onto Teece who was most grateful. I think I’ll have check out tikit.net and see just what I’m missing from my Pan horror collection – not I do have a few of those I can tell you! This anthology design does seen very similar to other designs Pan did at the time except the picture was inside a ring of something. I think I’ll be the one off trawling this afternoon now! Hope you’re well otherwise, prosmise I’ll reply to your email soon, still a bit up and down with the poorlies. Take care xx

      Like

  3. Postcard Cafe 24/10/2014 / 11:49 am

    Imagination Unlimited wins this round! Giant hand, tiny figure, lots of metalwork and a colourwash background… Great stuff. I like the typeface and particularly like the co-ordinated orange border with rounded corners. For 3/6 its a bargain…! 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 24/10/2014 / 12:12 pm

      Thanks Mr Cafe, glad you liked this on as it’s a particular fave too – painted by Richard Powers, a master of the SF book cover. I paid slightly more than 3’6 for it however! Thos old cover prices never fail to make me grin. Hope you’re well Mr C, I’ll be in touch soon, still got a touch of the poorlies…

      Like

  4. Bernie 24/10/2014 / 12:32 pm

    Back in my book collecting days I used to be able to date a book by the cover price, I’ve forgotten now, of course! but I can still sniff out a wrongly attributed date based on price. Sorry you’re not well, didn’t mean to hassle you, take your time if course!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 24/10/2014 / 12:39 pm

      Of course, decimalisation came and ruined it all for us. I still prefer to work in shillings and guineas, gives a man a bit of edge I think. You’re not hassling me either Bernie, just didn’t want you to think I’d forgotten your email that’s all. Speak soon xx

      Like

  5. Guy 13/07/2015 / 12:36 am

    Hi

    After reading Bud Webster’s book on SF anthologies “Anthopology 101” I began to add a lot of SF anthologies to my collection. I can see I have a long way to go. This summer I am at the cabin but one thing I miss is my SF collection. F. Bleiler and T. E. Dikty are always good and I love Power’s cover art. I love you site by the way, I enjoy the mixture of SF and art.

    All the best
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 13/07/2015 / 2:52 am

      Glad to have you aboard Guy, always pleased to have another SF/anthology/Powers fan around the place. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

