The Arrival Of The Huge Brown Parcels

A week or so ago I was hard pressed to find a single decent title online, even after a good hour of searching on the iPad but then without warning, things changed completely. I struck a seam of books which were all offered at ‘Buy It Now’ prices (I’m far too impatient for all that mucking about waiting for auctions to end malarky!) and began to make a tentative selection before the spectre of cost began to loom over the whole endeavour and spoil things with reality. Then a job lot of Digit paperbacks joined the search and I was once again sifting through a whole pile of ‘possibles’ and ‘maybes’.

After a long bout of heated consideration I had my ‘essentials’ list compiled and finally got round to the financial transaction of this admittedly large stack of paperbacks. Eventually I decided that the cost was within my range and so I set about adding the twenty or so titles (plus the job lot naturally) to my basket. The Paypal step was over far too quickly and now all I had to do was wait for my new arrivals, something else I’m incredibly impatient about!

A few days later a a couple of huge brown parcels arrived for me containing my newly acquired stash of books. I was as excited as a kid on his birthday morning as I tore away the wrappings to reveal piles of carefully wrapped novels. Happiness for me is a series of simple things – a great book with a cracking cover, the completion of a long overdue collection or even the nostalgia inducing whiff of stale paper as I quietly read all serve to boost my endorphin levels.

But enough of this interminable preamble, here is a selection of eight books, all of which were contained within those two fabulous parcels, I’ll be slipping in more covers as time passes – comments at the ready;

This Immortal by Roger Zelazny
This version was published in 1968 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Zelazny This Immortal

Patron Of The Arts by Wiliiam Rotsler
This version was published in 1974 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is uncredited

I just love the subtle blending of anatomical design, nudity and psychedelia on this cover, yet another example of the dying art of the 1970s book designer.

Rotsler Patron Of The Arts

The Trial Of Terra by Jack Williamson
This version was published in 1962 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

Williamson The Trial Of Terra

Time Out Of Joint by Philip K. Dick
This version was published in 1965 by Belmont Books
The cover artist is uncredited

PKD Time Out Of Joint

Apollo At Go by Jeff Sutton
This version was published in 1964 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is credited to ‘Jacks’

Sutton Apollo At Go

Ashes And Stars by George Zebrowski
This version was published in 1977 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Bob Pepper

Zebrowski Ashes & Stars

World Without Men by Charles Eric Maine
This version was published in 1963 by Digit Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Maine World Without Men

Veruchia by E. C. Tubb
This version was published in 1973 by Ace Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Tubb Veruchia

The bookseller sent me a rather pleasant email message explaining that he had met E. C. Tubb some years ago and had asked him to sign a few books as a favour although he wasn’t sure if this book was included in the autographs. I was thrilled to find out that this novel does indeed contain the author’s signature on the flyleaf.

E. C. Tubb Signature

14 thoughts on “The Arrival Of The Huge Brown Parcels

  1. Joachim Boaz 28/10/2014 / 2:02 pm

    I’ve been very tempted by Rostler’s SF. It’s supposedly a bizarre read… Let me know when you read it! Might have to find a copy.

    Trial of Terra is a very standard “meh.” Wrote a review a while back. Williamson has never impressed me (do you like any of his work?).

    A fun PKD.

    Have that Zebrowski novel on the shelf. But his collection The Monadic Universe was mostly disappointing so I don’t think I’ll get to it soon.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 28/10/2014 / 2:11 pm

      That’s just what I’d heard too – but the cover definitely lured me in, it’s a beauty. Not read it as yet (as per usual) but I’ll get round to some day I’m sure.

      Not really familiar with Jack Nicholson but once again, the cover is great so worth the £2 I paid.

      The PKD is a good read but again waiting for a Zebrowski slot.

      I sometimes feel like a charlatan writing about SF books from the artwork perspective, like I spend my valuable reading time photographing books and writing this blog. Like I said before, I’ll leave those great book reviews to people like yourselves and stick to my covers – everyone’s happy.

      All the best Joachim.

      Like

      • Joachim Boaz 28/10/2014 / 4:15 pm

        Jack Williamson? I think Jack Nicholson might be on your mind… 😉

        Regardless, despite your aversion and reluctance to write reviews I’d still like to know what you think of the Rostler. Because yes, it has great art, but I rarely buy books based on art (the SF I like often has nice art due to the years they were published). And, would like to know if the Rostler is any good!

        Like

      • unsubscriber 28/10/2014 / 4:18 pm

        I’ll see what I can do, no guarantees mind.

        Like

  2. johncnash 28/10/2014 / 8:44 pm

    That’s a lovely haul, especially that Mayflower cover. I rarely buy books on ebay but you’re tempting me. I miss the days when you could go to a charity shop or jumble sale and pick this sort of thing up for 10p. It’s so rare to find them out in the real world these days, isn’t it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/10/2014 / 8:51 pm

      Thanks Mr Nash, the Mayflower book is a beauty isn’t it – another fine eBay purchase. I miss those lazy days of bookshop browsing too but they’re few and far between these days unfortunately. I use eBay a lot now, the prices are a bit higher than 10p unfortunately but at least the choices are there. All the best my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bernie 29/10/2014 / 1:10 pm

    Well, you did it this time!! I spent so long wandering round the internet I had no time to write a comment yesterday!!

    Some books from my collection, whether current or sold I can’t remember, the Zelazny, the PKD, the Jeff Sutton, the Ted Tubb and the Charles Eric Maine. THAT deserves a further comment as it was the purchase that stopped my collecting dead in its tracks for a few weeks back in the 1980s!! I’d been searching for it for years, together with 2 books to complete a series I was collecting, and found all 3 in the same shop on the same day. I was thrilled to get them, mooned over them, read them, carefully shelved them in just the right places, but found that the hunger had gone, with nothing specific to search for the trawl round charity and secondhand shops became aimless, I couldn’t believe it. I don’t remember what rekindled the urge, probably an Ace, Digit or Badger turning up, but it was strange while it lasted!

    The Jack Williamson, my favourite this time, has me looking for the hidden EMSH, but the reproduction on my computer screen isn’t good enough 😦 Put me out of my misery!

    Saved the best ‘til last, the Rotsler cover was used again, in 1979, on a Silverberg book from Pan. See the link to the page on the ISFDB, it even given the artist in a roundabout way.

    http://www.isfdb.org/cgi-bin/pl.cgi?263146

    That’s also the one sent me trawling the net, after trawling my own computer and my removeable hard drive. You see, I couldn’t remember the actual book, just knew I’d seen it before, have you any idea how long it takes to check 2000++ thumbnails? 🙂 🙂

    Keep well, Bernie xx

    Like

    • unsubscriber 29/10/2014 / 3:57 pm

      Thanks for the reply Bernie, glad you enjoyed th books as it’s music’s turn next post! I sometimes get fed up with trawling the same sites and nothing new coming up that i have to lay off for a few weeks. Finding those three books in the same day must have been awesome – lucky you!

      The Williamson is indeed an Emsh cover but I couldnt spot his moniker anywhere. Hope my photos are good enough by the way, I put a lot of effort into photographing covers so I’d hate to think they’re not up to snuff.

      You were right about the Rotsler cover art, it awlays anoys me when the same piece is used on other books.

      Anyhoo, just had big batches of Bagders and Digits in so their will be plenty for you to goggle at soon.

      Take care xx

      Like

  4. Bernie 29/10/2014 / 9:00 pm

    Just quickly. NOT your pics, a combination of my computer, my eyesight, poor lighting on the boat and odd reflections from brass on neighbouring boats, rest easy xx

    Like

    • unsubscriber 29/10/2014 / 9:12 pm

      Phew, you had me worried for a moment there. I try and do my best with the photos so i shall indeed rest easy now. Thanks Bernie xx

      Like

  5. Lestaret 30/10/2014 / 9:54 pm

    Lovely shot of the signature on the fly leaf. Just my cup of tea – the discolouring and texture of the paper has come up well, as has the pressure of the signature. Mmm. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 30/10/2014 / 10:11 pm

      You certainly have an eye for such minute details Mr Lestaret. Amazing what you can achieve with an iPhone and tripod.

      Like

      • Lestaret 30/10/2014 / 10:26 pm

        You can have the best kit in the world and take bad photographs. A good image starts and ends in the eye of the photographer. Nice work sir.

        Like

      • unsubscriber 30/10/2014 / 10:31 pm

        Thanks for the kind words, you’re a gentleman.

        Like

Leave a Reply

