A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 3

Rev Fanshawe Portrait

This fine Sunday morning I’ve been pottering around the house leafing through another one of the good Reverend’s books in the search for a little action and adventure. I’ve certainly found both those things in this copy of Projection Infinity that’s for sure. It’s the story of Helen Powell, a lowly punch card operator who notices that the main computer Mark IX begins to act strangely after saboteurs attempt to destroy the machine. Ms Powell looks impossibly glamorous on the front cover as the computer reveals it’s terrifying face and she takes flight. Just what a chap needs on a lazy Sunday I think. Ah, punch cards – they take me right back.

The author of the book, Karl ZeigFreid was a pseudonym of John S. Glasby and R. L. Fanthorpe writing together as a team.

Projection Infinity by Karl Zeigfreid
This version was published in 1964 by Badger Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Badger - Zeigfreid Projection Infinity

4 thoughts on “A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 3

  1. Bernie 02/11/2014 / 12:29 pm

    Another memory jogger, thankyou 🙂 I remember a lot of Badger covers signed “Fox” so have been on a trawl (there’s a surprise!) and I’ve found this:-

    http://bearalley.blogspot.co.uk/2006/09/henry-fox.html

    Do me a favour? Please put the book number in the text for these Badgers, just so I can tell if it’s one I’ve had before.

    Keep well xx

    Like

    • unsubscriber 02/11/2014 / 12:42 pm

      Glad you liked the cover Bernie, I promise as from the next post I’ll include the serial number for you. Just had a quick look but couldn’t put my hands on the copy. My work space is like a library at rough sea! There are stacks of books 20 deep sitting on the dining room table waiting to be sorted onto the new shelf I have to go and buy yet. It’s a good job I don’t have a complaining partner to moan at me… I’ll take a look at that article later on, I noted that Fox had signed a lot of these books too.

      Ok, back to the books, they won’t sort themselves out!

      Take care xx

      Like

  2. johncnash 02/11/2014 / 1:10 pm

    There’s a large Badger shaped hole in my knowledge of mid-20th C. paperbacks, so I’m enjoying these Sunday posts. Splendid stuff.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 02/11/2014 / 1:14 pm

      Good to know I’m filling your hole Mr Nash! There are plenty of these still kicking around but prices have gone crazy, you’re looking at closer to £8-£15 a copy. I was lucky to grab most of my collection when they still £2.50 and the like, ahh, happy times. Anyhow, plenty more of these to come to strap in and enjoy the Sunday rides, all the best to you and yours.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

