Tales Of Weirdness By Clark Ashton Smith

Clark Ashton Smith (born 1893) was an American poet, sculptor, painter and author of fantasy, horror and science fiction short stories. He also conducted a literary friendship with the great H. P. Lovecraft which spanned fifteen years until Lovecraft’s untimely death at the age of only 46. In 1935 after a series of deaths including his mother in 1935, his father in 1937 and Lovecraft later that year, he all but abandoned writing fiction to concentrate on his sculpture. He also returned to his earlier love of poetry. Smith died in his sleep after a number of strokes in 1961 aged 68.

Much of Smith’s work can be characterised by his decidedly morbid fascinations, these were shot through with a sardonic humour that repelled some readers at the time his short stories were being published in magazines such as Weird Tales and Astounding Stories.

My particular favourites by Smith are his collected volumes of decidedly weird fiction and Lovecraft inspired Cthulhu Mythos tales which were set in fantastical, semi-mythical worlds and divided into story cycles.

The following represents my entire collection of works by Clark Ashton Smith although I’m missing a single volume from these Panther reprints – The Abominations Of Yondo – which is proving to be a real rarity as I have been searching for a copy for some years now to no avail.

If you’re not yet familiar with the writing of Clark Ashton Smith, now’s your chance to discover the weirdness that you’ve been missing all this time.

UPDATE – I had a message left in the comments section from a rather kindly gentleman under the name of ‘franzwesten’ who mentioned that he had a spare copy of The Abominations Of Yondo sitting around at home and would be more than pleased to let me have it in order to complete this collection. I’m overwhelmed and a bit stuck for words other than a stuttered… thank you. This is the kind of selfless sharing that I have grown pleasantly accustomed to whilst blogging on WordPress these past two years. It’s usually the exchange of ideas, inspiration, knowledge and wisdom that takes place but this is the very first time someone has so generously gone out of their way to  actually send me a book that I’ve been after for a very long time. I’ve added the image at the end of this post for completeness and would like to humbly thank Mr Read once more for his kindness and dedicate this article to him.

This fine upstanding gentleman also runs a blog of his own; Lankhmar – The Fritz Leiber Homepage which is well worth a visit due to the amount of content and information contained across its pages.

Genius Loci by Clark Ashton Smith
This version was published in 1974 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Bruce Pennington

Genius Loci

Lost Worlds, Volume 1 by Clark Ashton Smith
This version was published in 1974 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Bruce Pennington

Lost Worlds Vol 1

Lost Worlds Volume 1, by Clark Ashton Smith
This version was published in 1974 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Bruce Pennington

Lost Worlds Vol 2

Out of Space & Time, Volume 1 by Clark Ashton Smith
This version was published in 1974 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited – although it was probably Painted by Bruce Pennington given the fact that all of these books are completed in his style and were issued during 1974/1976.

Out Of Space & Time Vol 1

Out of Space & Time, Volume 2 by Clark Ashton Smith
This version was published in 1974 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited – although it was probably Painted by Bruce Pennington given the fact that all of these books are completed in his style and were issued during the same year.

Out Of Space & Time Vol 2

Out of Space & Time, Volume 1 by Clark Ashton Smith
This version was published in 1976 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited – although it was probably Painted by Bruce Pennington given the fact that all of these books are completed in his style and were issued during the same year.

Tales Of Science And Sorcery

The Abominations Of Yondo by Clark Ashton Smith
This version was published in 1974 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited but, as for the above books is probably a Bruce Pennington work.

 The Abominations Of Yondo

15 thoughts on “Tales Of Weirdness By Clark Ashton Smith

  1. Bernie 04/11/2014 / 12:15 pm

    Another memory jogger! I’ve always been a fan of hard SF rather than fantasy or horror, but I had several of these one bought for the covers. I can confirm that Tales of Science and Sorcery has a BP cover, and I’m 100% in agreement with you that the others are probably all by him. When I sold them I got very good prices, IIRC, only 2 or 3 bidders but the bids went up nicely 🙂

    I’ve never seen Genius Loci or Out of Space and Time vol 2 so a special thankyou for including those.

    Take care xx Bernie

    Like

    • unsubscriber 04/11/2014 / 12:21 pm

      They are an acquired taste certainly but I do love a good bit of supernatural horror! Yeah, Pennington most definitely did the lot in one go I reckon but there’s nothing I’ve found to confirm that so it’s just a case of assumption.

      The prices of these always do seem to go high, I saw the one I was missing for £20 on eBay once… gulp, a bit too much for me even.

      Glad you enjoyed seeing these covers again and ones you hadn’t too.

      Best wishes xx

      Like

  2. johncnash 04/11/2014 / 12:18 pm

    Great! I’ve got these ones too. Although, I’m missing OoS&T vol 2 and, like you, The Abominations Of Yondo. I like Bruce Pennington’s work,I’ve got some more if his on a couple of Panther Arthur Machen volumes, if I remember rightly.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 04/11/2014 / 12:25 pm

      They are tough to find for some reason, as I said in the article I’ve been looking for Yondo for years now with no luck. There was actually a full set on here (minus Yondo of course) a few weeks ago, I should have watched it to see how high the bidding went.

      Arthur Machen on Panther with Pennington covers! You Sir are a hero, the drinks are on me!!

      Like

      • johncnash 04/11/2014 / 1:27 pm

        Cheers! Save me a seat at the bar in The Witches Teat.

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 04/11/2014 / 1:31 pm

        You bet, we can sup a few pints of Witches Brew and look out for Unwin. He might entertain us with a few of his infamous anecdotes. See you in there my friend.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. franzwesten 06/11/2014 / 10:29 am

    I LOVE these covers (in fact Lost Worlds Volume II ended up being very important to me as I wrote about on my blog http://www.lankhmar.co.uk/readers-journey/ ).

    Of all the books I own, these immediately pull me back to the early eighties when I was beginning to find my own taste in literature.

    Like

    • unsubscriber 06/11/2014 / 11:32 am

      Glad you enjoyed seeing the cover again, I’s good to know I keep jogging happy memories with book selections. Ah those early days of discovery when we thought we could conquer the world and the stars with a mere book in our hands…

      Just read your blog piece too, great stuff. I’m still having trouble subscribing to your blog, either WordPress or Blogger are not playing nice.

      All the best.

      Like

  4. franzwesten 06/11/2014 / 10:37 am

    Sorry just noticed your comment, I believe I have a spare copy of Yondo, it is not in Mint condition, but good to VG I would say, I can happily stick in the post for you.

    I also picked up the Panther HB edition of Out of Space and Time.. which is an awful cover…!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 06/11/2014 / 11:37 am

      That’s the kindest thing that’s happened to me all year, thanks so much – It would be amongst it’s kind and treated with much care I can assure you. I just need a way to get my address to you without telling it to the whole world too – leave it with me a sec and I’ll see what I can do. I can hardly believe it – I’d be happy to pay you a fee, it’s no problem, kinda like private eBay.

      Thanks Franz, you’ve made me a very happy man indeed. All the best.

      Lee

      Like

    • unsubscriber 06/11/2014 / 12:35 pm

      Got your eMail address but not before sending you a message containing my full details to your website via the ‘Contact Me’ form – I didn’t think It’d go public… could you remove that too and I’ll i’ll send you a copy of it via email. Phew, what a palaver! Thanks again Mr Nash.

      Like

      • unsubscriber 06/11/2014 / 12:37 pm

        Franz – Sorry, I was just in the middle on another email when… it’s like an episode of Scoody Doo here this afternoon!

        Like

  5. Guy 14/07/2015 / 3:20 am

    Hi

    I have read both your posts concerning Smith and I want to say it is nice to be able to find a community of people who share a common interest and it is great to see the support you have had.
    We hear about the bad in people every day it is great to hear about the good. I love Smith and have a few of his Arkham House plus the first five of the Panthers you showed I really like the Genius Loci and Lost World covers. I have always felt that overall Smith was the best writer associated with HPL especially his fantasy work. my favourites are the Maal Dweb stories. I also think you can see his influence on a number of writers Vance’s Dying Earth series springs to mind right away.

    It is obvious from the deluge of comments that I really enjoy your blog.
    All the best.

    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/07/2015 / 11:55 am

      I agree with you on both counts Guy, I was pleasantly surprised to be able to complete this collection because of someone else’s kindness. CAS was definitely my favourite Lovecraft associated writer too although I’m not overly familiar with the Vance series you mentioned. Keep those comments coming Guy, it’s great to have a new follower and drives me on to keep writing and collecting. Many thanks for all your kind words and best wishes as always.

      Like

Leave a Reply

