From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.7, A Speedily Haphazard Approach

It’s been a relatively busy past week with parcels arriving every day so far which has given me less time to flick through the bookcases for potential blog post covers than I normally like. And so I’ve not spent too much time making my selections this week – other pressing activities have got in the way too but I have enjoyed the randomness that has appeared by following such a hurried and haphazard approach.

I apologise to all my readers for spending a little less time browsing than I usually do but I hope you thoroughly enjoy the following five books presented here all the same, let me know what you think in the comments;

Three Worlds To Conquer by Poul Anderson
This version was published in 1966 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is signed as ‘Jacks’

Anderson Three Worlds To Conquer

Three Worlds To Conquer by Poul Anderson
This version was published in 1964 by Belmont Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Belknap Long Odd Science Fiction

Cycle Of Fire by Hal Clement
This version was published in 1966 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Clement Cycle Of Fire

The Day Before Tomorrow by Gerald Klein
This version was published in 1972 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

Klein The Day Before Tomorrow

The Sleep Eaters by John Lymington
This version was published in 1967 by Macfadden Books
The cover artist is Jack Faragasso

Lymington The Sleep Eaters

6 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.7, A Speedily Haphazard Approach

  1. Bernie 11/11/2014 / 11:55 am

    Oh I say I do like this approach, no theme, just wonderful covers to feast my eyes on. And while most of the books are familiar to me I’ve not seen ANY of the covers before 🙂

    Three Worlds to Conquer looks a bit like a face at a quick glance, and I love the spaceship forming the mouth. Another face on the Frank Belknap Long, and on the Sleep Eaters, admittedly as part of a human form, you seem to have subconsciously (sp?) created a mini-theme 🙂

    My favourite? I’m sure you’ve guessed already, The Day Before Tomorrow, AND it’s a time travel story, Oh I want to read it!!

    Very much enjoyed this selection, thanks for taking the time to do your blog, it’s appreciated.

    Take care, Bernie xx

    Like

    • unsubscriber 11/11/2014 / 8:06 pm

      Glad to hear you enjoyed both the approach and the resulting covers Bernie. I’ll have to stop being so anal about things a little more often if this is the outcome.

      I had a feeling that you’d love The Day Before Tomorrow – huge Josh Kirby fan that you are, it’s a stunner of a cover isn’t it? Still unread by me as yet unfortunately, so many books and not enough time.

      Thanks for your kind words about the blog. It’s a little bit of therapy for me just now and so your appreciation is very welcome.

      Take care xx

      Like

  2. Lestaret 11/11/2014 / 12:14 pm

    Always a great selection. Lovely stuff as usual! Love the header too!

    Like

    • unsubscriber 11/11/2014 / 8:15 pm

      Thanks for the comment Mr Lestaret, I’m pleased to know that you feel I’m maintaining my standards suitably. Always a pleasure from such a learned appreciator of books and art such as your good self.

      As far as the header goes, they’re randomly selected from a pool of about fifty designs and generated differently on each page hit – never the same header on two pages or refreshed views for that matter. Keeps us all on our toes. I’m glad that you loved your own personal header though, whichever one it was!

      Like

  3. Joachim Boaz 12/11/2014 / 4:27 pm

    I must admit, I like the typeface on the Clement Cycle of Fire 😉 I also love those staged photo covers… I’d love to see what the original models looked like.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 12/11/2014 / 6:30 pm

      It’s a pretty psychedelic affair all round isn’t it. The original models were probably the usual chicken wire and papier mache efforts so beloved by the slightly out of focus photographer of the day. Glad you enjoyed the cover Joachim, all the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

