From Front To Back, It’s The Return Of The Wraparound Cover

Last week I wrote an article about the limited amount of space an artist has to work with on a book cover, especially now everything has to be designed specifically for reduction to a tiny JPG for the eBook market. In the post I praised those fearless few who didn’t stop where they were supposed to but crossed the spine and extended their vision onto the back cover too. I concentrated on Ian Miller who I think is one of the finest exponents of this particular brand of artistry but I wanted to show some other fine examples I have on my shelves too.

I was browsing my library and was surprised to find a few books with such covers that I had forgotten about and one I had never even discovered and so started making a pile to work through. Once again, I have included a few books that I’ve already featured as front cover photographs only but they’ve never been presented in the full wraparound format before due to my lack of knowledge to enable me to achieve satisfactory results.

The photography part is relatively easy, I use a small light box and tripod for the front and back covers but the spine can be extremely tricky to negotiate given the fragility of some of these books. Once I have these raw materials, the fun starts in post production which is all carried out by hand. It can take an age to complete something with a complicated design or a faded, cracked spine. I’m aware that there are software packages available now which do this work automatically but I think the results look very poor, I’ll do it all by myself thanks very much. I always get the same buzz when I complete a wraparound cover though, three individual photographs morphed seamlessly into a single whole and not a join in sight!

So, it’s from this selection of titles that I present a further eight glorious wraparound covers to feast your eyes on. Once again, I hope you enjoy viewing them as much as I did slaving over a hot MacBook Pro creating them. Don’t forget, clicking on an image will result in a larger view of each cover so there’s more detail to dig around in. If you have any good wraparounds sitting in your collection, let me know in the comments;

Note – I haven’t included any of the glorious wraparounds which were included in an article called Twelve More Richard Powers Covers (here) as that would just be plain cheating, not to mention bone idle of me!

Brain Wave by Poul Anderson
This version was published in 1954 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Wraparound - Anderson, Brain Wave

The Omega Point by George Zebrowski
This version was published in 1972 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Bob Pepper

Zebrowski Omega Point Wraparound

The Duelling Machine by Ben Bova
This version was published in 1977 by Puffin Books
The cover artist is Peter Goodfellow

This one is a bit of a cheat as it pauses at the spine rather than crosses it but when put together like this this I think it looks stunning.

Bova The Dualing Machine

Immortality Inc. by Robert Sheckley
This version was published in 1978 by Peacock Books/Penguin
The cover artist is Peter Goodfellow

Sheckley Wraparound

Rogue Moon by Algis Budrys
This version was published in 1973 by Arrow Books
The cover artist is Chris Yates

Budrys Rogue Moon

Kalin by E. C. Tubb
This version was published in 1973 by Arrow Books
The cover artist is Chris Yates

Tubb Wraparound

The Patchwork Girl by Larry Niven
This version was published in 1982 by Orbit Books
The cover artist is Peter Jones

Wraparound - Niven The Patchwork Girl

Solar Lottery by Philip K. Dick
This version was published in 1972 by Arrow Books
The cover artist is Chris Yates

Dick Solar Lottery

6 thoughts on “From Front To Back, It’s The Return Of The Wraparound Cover

  1. johncnash 26/11/2014 / 7:23 pm

    Gorgeous post! I’ve been noticing more wraparounds in my own collection too since our discussion. I love that Brain Wave cover, just look at those colours!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/11/2014 / 8:08 pm

      Thanks Mr Nash, glad you liked the post. They hide everywhere so check your books and you’ll be surprised where they crop up. Brain Wave is the work of the very talented Mr Richard Powers, check the link I included in my note for more of his wraparounds.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bernie 27/11/2014 / 11:12 am

    Some lovely items here, again hard put to find a favourite, Peter Jones, Goodfellow, Powers, nope can’t pick just one! One thing I do love is the way the publishers have cooperated with the artist, they all deserve a medal!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 27/11/2014 / 1:00 pm

      Thanks Bernie, they are great examples of the wraparound thuough aren’t they – tough to pick a favourite. Take care xx

      Like

  3. franzwesten 27/11/2014 / 11:55 am

    Fantastic work.

    I am pleased you put up a Peter Jones cover, I think his series of Niven covers are sublime and pull me back to being a teenager again. I loved his Neutron Star cover.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

