Another Random Act Of Generosity

Back in November 2014 I wrote an article about a series of Penguin SF paperbacks with eye catching cover art produced by experimental photographer Franco Grignani (here). I presented my incomplete collection of fifteen books as I hadn’t been fortunate enough to find a copy of the remaining volume anywhere after exhausting all of my resources. I had finally become resigned to the fact that this series would remain incomplete despite my best efforts and so posted what I had before moving on to other books.

It came as no small surprise then when I was contacted out of the blue sometime afterwards by my good friend and fellow blogger Mr Read who told me that he had stumbled across a copy of the missing book whilst browsing in a secondhand shop and had purchased it on my behalf. I was absolutely thrilled as you can imagine and immediately replied to his kind email to shower praise upon such a selfless act of generosity. Mr Read is of course no stranger to this kind of thing after having stepped in previously with a spare copy of The Abominations Of Yondo by Clark Ashton Smith to complete another collection (here). I am therefore forever indebted to this kindly gentleman who would take nothing but a mere book swap for his pains, I happily sent him a couple of Badger duplicates for his trouble.

It’s worth noting here that Mr Read runs his own very well produced and extremely erudite website/blog called Lankhmar – The Fritz Leiber Homepage which can be accessed here.

Say what you like about the denizens of the internet and bloggers in particular but I have never come across such a friendly and thoughtful bunch. I have never met Mr Read in person but knowing that he’s out there reading my words and acting on my behalf in such situations pleases me greatly. There are many others out there too who have taken the time and effort to react to my humble efforts whether clicking the ‘Like’ button or leaving a comment, it’s all the same to me and displays a tangible human connection through the wires. I’d therefore like to take this opportunity to say a big thanks to everyone who has responded in some way or another, I’m truly grateful for your participation.

Here then is the final piece in my now completed Franco Grignani puzzle, a book I never thought I’d get my hands on try as I might. Your comments are as always welcomed;

The Day It Rained Forever by Ray Bradbury
This version was published in 1969 by Penguin Books
The cover artist is Franco Grignani

Bradbury, The Day It Rained Forever

For the sake of completeness, here’s a recap of the other books in this series. Click on a thumbnail for a larger view;

Brunner The Productions of timeSaberhagen BerserkerLeiber The Wanderer

Harrison Bill The Galactic HeroPohl Kornbluth Search The SkyPKD The Penultimate Truth

Davidson RorkPohl Williamson StarchildPangborn The Judgement Of Eve

Brunner The Squares Of The CityPangborn DavyMoorcock Traps Of Time

Leiber Conjure WifePohl Williamson The Reefs Of SpacePKD Time Out Of Joint

8 thoughts on “Another Random Act Of Generosity

  1. fromcouchtomoon 09/01/2015 / 12:02 pm

    It’s gorgeous. And I’m thrilled you were able to complete your collection. This is such a wonderful community to be a part of.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joachim Boaz 09/01/2015 / 1:09 pm

    Reminds me when Ian Sales (SF author/critic) over at It Doesn’t Have to Be Right… sent me a signed (!) novel by D. G. Compton (one of my fav SF authors).

    What a nice collection 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 09/01/2015 / 2:47 pm

      Sounds like you were on the end of another random act of generosity there Joachim. Glad you liked the collection, all the best.

      Like

  3. Lestaret 09/01/2015 / 6:51 pm

    A collection completed. Highly satisfying. As you know, these are my absolute favourites in your library and I know how frustrated you have been as this last book eluded you. Time to break open the cooking sherry I believe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 09/01/2015 / 6:56 pm

      Thanks Mr Lestaret, it is indeed an absolute pleasure to be able to complete this rather stunning series of books and what a fabulous way to achieve such a feat. I’m all out cooking sherry to toast the occasion unfortunately so red wine vinegar has had to do instead, hic.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Franz Westen 12/01/2015 / 4:08 pm

    Happy New year to you all, they do all look lovely together I have to admit! I was delighted with my Badgers, which are sitting on my desk next to me, inviting me into realms of the impossible!

    Like

    • unsubscriber 12/01/2015 / 4:16 pm

      And a happy new year to you Mr Read. My Fanco Grignani Penguin collection looks even better now it’s complete, all thanks to you. I’m glad to hear that you’re pleased with your Badgers, it’s a great feeling to know that you’re happy with our book trade too. All the very best and a big thank you once again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

