From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.10, A Final Bit Of Horror And The Supernatural

Having covered the great August Derleth’s anthologies (here) and works of pure pulp (here) I find myself still left with a huge pile of horror books with brilliant covers that I’d like to share. I can’t include everything I want in this final post and so I’ll just have to choose eight of my favourites from the ghoulish to the garish to wrap up this diversion into all things horrible.

I hope that these covers have been of some interest, particularly to my usual sci-fi devotees, feel free to let me know what you think in the comments then maybe I can post a few more at some other point;

A Stir Of Echoes by Richard Matheson
This version was published in 1965 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

Anthology A Stir Of Echoes

The Supernatural Omnibus edited by Montague Summers
This version was published in 1976 by Penguin Books
The cover artist is Justin Todd

Summers, The Supernatural Omnibus

Horror Anthology edited by Syd Bentlif
This version was published in 1965 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Bentlif, Horror Anthology

The Darkest Night by Peter Saxon
This version was published in 1966 by Mayflower-Dell Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Saxon, The Darkest Night

Tales Of Love And Horror edited by Don Congdon
This version was published in 1961 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Congdon Tales Of Love And Horror

The Dance Of Death by Algernon Blackwood
This version was published in 1963 by Pan Books
The cover artist is W. F. Phillipps

Blackwood The Dance Of Death

The October Country by Ray Bradbury
This version was published in 1965 by Four Square Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Bradbury The October Country

Shock! by Richard Matheson
This version was published in 1962 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

Anthology Shock!

8 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.10, A Final Bit Of Horror And The Supernatural

  1. johncnash 21/01/2015 / 10:42 am

    A gorgeous collection, I love that Pan Blackwood cover.

    Tales of Love and Horror? What an odd anthology, one can only imagine what terrors are contained in those pages.

    I’ve got Volume 2 of the Montague Summers in Panther but have never got around to getting Volume 1, I’ll have to see if I can pick it up.

    Great post, my friend, all the very best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 21/01/2015 / 6:30 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Mr Nash, glad you enjoyed this further batch of covers. Good luck with hunting down a copy of the Montague Summers book, it’s a great collection with a stunning cover. All the best to you too.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bernie 21/01/2015 / 11:23 am

    I often wonder what came first, your love of the eldritch or of skeleton and skull book covers. Another fantastic selection here, with the wonderful Richard Powers represented, and not one but TWO Josh Kirbys topping and tailing the set!! “Shock!” is actually signed, at the bottom about a third of the way in from the right. I can’t see a sig on “A Stir of Echoes”, I suspect it’s been cropped out, but it’s definitely him!!

    More apologies for a lack of responses, there is a genuine reason, NOT I assure you apathy, but I couldn’t let the Kirbys go unmentioned 🙂

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 21/01/2015 / 6:37 pm

      Hello there Bernie, always a pleasure to hear from you after so long. No need for apologies, it’s just good to have you aboard again. As for the books, if anyone can positively identify a Josh Kirby then you’re always going to be the woman I turn to. Thanks for your input, I’ll update the post shortly. Incidentally, my love of a good creepy tale probably just pipped the skull fetish I have but only just. Some great skulls in this collection too. Once again, it’s great to hear from you, Bernie I hope you’re fit and well.

      All the best xx

      Like

  3. Franz Westen 20/03/2015 / 1:09 pm

    I also own the October Country edition, love it. I had not seen the arcimboldo like Summers cover before!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

