From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.11, The Return Of Junior Unsubscriber

I think it was sometime a few months ago when I was initially preparing this article and in walked junior unsubscriber who asked what I was up to with my books. After explaining that I was again choosing more covers for an article I was writing, she decided that I needed some additional help like last time (here) and so I turned her loose on the stacks of books I was sifting through at that point. Just like last time I asked her to only pick books that she thought had interesting covers and a surprisingly short while later she had all five titles selected, a wry smile playing across her face. I might ask her to do this a little more often for me if these are the results I can expect.

I asked her what she liked most about her choices and have included her annotated comments under each entry for a little enlightenment. I mean, I’m sure we’d all love to know exactly what does go through the mind of an inscrutable twelve year old when choosing their vintage science fiction books.

And so thanks to the invaluable help of the small but mighty one yet again in preparing this humble article, here’s this week’s collection of junior unsubscriber-approved paperbacks for your enjoyment, comments if you please;

Beyond by Theodore Sturgeon
This version was published in 1970 by Avon Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The man is only wearing pyjamas, he’ll end up getting a cold because he’s outside and all the plants have faces.

Sturgeon Beyond

Alien Embassy by Ian Watson
This version was published in 1979 by Panther Granada Books
The cover artist is uncredited

He’s very a very fat and ugly alien, I don’t think he eats his vegetables and has a bad diet with burgers and chips for dinner every night.

Watson Alien Embassy

The Omega Point by George Zebrowski
This version was published in 1974 by New English Library Books
The cover artist is Ray Feibush

Skeletons are very scary things… and these ones have guns too. That makes them extra-scary things.

Zebrowski The Omega Point

Conditionally Human by Walter M. Miller
This version was published in 1966 by Panther Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Someone has written all over these men’s heads. They also have keys to wind up their brains. What happens if they stop? Is that when they go to sleep?

Miller Conditionally Human

Mutants by Gordon Dickson
This version was published in 1973 by Collier Books
The cover artist is uncredited

I really like the man’s cape and costume, even though he’s wearing green tights which is a bit funny. He might be going to a fancy dress party or somewhere like that after fixing his machine.

Dickson Mutants

13 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.11, The Return Of Junior Unsubscriber

  1. Postcard Cafe 04/02/2015 / 11:08 am

    Great choice. Great covers. Great comments. Great post. Go Junior Unsubscriber…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/02/2015 / 4:32 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Mr Cafe, I’ll be sure to pass them on to Junior Unsubscriber too as she carried out most of the work.

      Like

    • unsubscriber 04/02/2015 / 4:33 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the post Joachim, it was fun putting it together.

      Like

  2. johncnash 04/02/2015 / 2:27 pm

    The Junior Unsubscriber’s comment on the Miller cover, in particular, is pure genius! And, funnily enough, I’m reading a Miller tale at this very moment.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/02/2015 / 4:40 pm

      I’m sure she’ll be pleased to hear that when I tell her Mr Nash, she certainly has some odd ideas which seem to make perfect sense when you think about them. Enjoy the Miller you’re reading at the moment too.

      Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/02/2015 / 4:42 pm

      Many thanks for the comment, glad you enjoyed this article.

      Like

  3. lcmt 05/02/2015 / 8:26 pm

    I like those plants with faces. Their curiosity seems benign, not at all menacing. They could be my friends.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 05/02/2015 / 8:35 pm

      What a sweet comment, I’d like to think the plants would be glad to have you as a friend and probably smile much more benignly as a result.

      Like

  4. Bernie 06/02/2015 / 11:58 am

    I just love your daughter’s quirky take on book covers. I especially enjoyed the Alien Embassy one, and how she completely ignored the nude lady at his shoulder, ah the sweet innocence of youth! More please.

    Take care

    Bernie xx

    Like

    • unsubscriber 06/02/2015 / 12:01 pm

      I’ll be sure to pass on your comments to the small and mighty one, she’s already basking in the glow of praise for her work on this article. I’ll definitely be calling on her services again in the near future if this is what she comes up with – I might be putting myself out of a job though!

      Take care too Bernie xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

