A Package From Redruth

Just recently whilst browsing eBay, I came across an intriguing sounding book with a great cover and decided to take a chance bid on it as the auction was due to end in around half an hour. Whilst I waited, I clicked to check out the the seller’s other items and was surprised to see another three golden period SF books which had rather good covers, all of which were scheduled to end at a similar time to the first.

There were a few counter-bids as the end drew near but I eventually won all four auctions paying a good deal less than I otherwise expected to. I was extremely pleased with this little haul but not as much as when a parcel containing the books arrived a few days later from Redruth in Cornwall.

The first book out of the package was a very early Digit publication with a sterling wraparound cover featuring ants attacking a robot. The remaining three volumes are great examples of the ‘digest’ format which is slightly wider than a standard paperback and uses staples to hold the pages in place rather than glue. The two Scion titles also have rear cover advertisements which I have included in the photographs below, one of which appears to be for a prototype e-cigarette! feel free to let me know what you think in the comments.

The Robot Brains by Sydney J. Bounds
This version was published in 1956 by Digit Books
The cover artist is C. Stewart

Digit - Bounds, The Robot Brains

I Came – I Saw – I Wondered by Volsted Gridban
(Pseudonym for E. C. Tubb and John Russell Fearn)
This version was published in 1954 by Scion Ltd Books
The cover artist is Ron Turner

Gridban, I Came - I Saw - I Wondered

Gridban, I Came - I Saw - I Wondered Back

Across The Ages by Vargo Statten
(Pseudonym for John Russell Fearn and Alistair Paterson)
This version was published in 1952 by Scion Ltd Books
The cover artist is Norman Light

Statten, Across The Ages

Statten, Across The Ages - Back

Mission From Mars by Rick Conroy
This version was published in 1952 by Panther Books
The cover artist is John Pollack

Conroy, Mission From Mars

4 thoughts on “A Package From Redruth

  1. Joachim Boaz 11/02/2015 / 4:09 pm

    I passed this one up at the store a few weeks ago. Although, it wasn’t the same quality. But, I can only go so far into the pulp side.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bernie 14/02/2015 / 5:43 pm

    What a fabulous little haul, well done on managing to get it!!

    I love that Digit cover, I’ve never seen a wraparound from them and I had loads when I started selling my collection. In fact I sold 2 different versions of that particular book, I wonder how many times they reissued it?

    Stay well and take care,

    Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 14/02/2015 / 5:46 pm

      Thanks Bernie,

      I was very pleased to win these auctions without having to pay too much. The Digit cover is very unusual, I have quite a large collection of them and this is the only wraparound amongst them.

      All’s well here thanks, talk soon and take care xx

      Like

  3. lcmt 16/02/2015 / 1:16 am

    Book 2 and 3 are my favorites, just bursting with Sci-Fi loveliness, but the lady’s expression on the 4th book is too intriguing, It says to me “Oh, you silly boy, you think you are so powerful with your silly ray gun, destroying that silly ship. With just the touch of my finger on this rock, I can obliterate this entire planet.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

