A Package From The USA

I’d been after a copy of a particular book for some weeks when I stumbled across it by chance on eBay one evening. I was a little put off at first however as it was located in the States and I always think that postage overseas seems to be extremely steep when compared to other sources. In a bid to negotiate a better shipping fee, I decided to browse the seller’s shop for other books to make up a parcel and I was amazed to find twenty or so titles screaming out for my attention. Eventually I decided on fifteen volumes and duly contacted the seller who gave me a very reasonable price for shipping to the UK. The books were also on the cheap side too so it was a win-win situation.

At the back end of last week, a parcel arrived for me bearing familiar markings and so I tore it open with much relish to reveal the stash of new books waiting for me inside. I thought I’d share most of the covers here, several more of them are destined for other posts. And so here then are ten books fresh from the USA;

A Cupful Of Space by Mildred Clingerman
This version was published in 1961 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Clingerman, A Cupful Of Space

Testament XXI by Guy Snyder
This version was published in 1973 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

Snyder, Testament XXI

Meeting At Infinity by John Brunner
This version was published in 1969 by Ace Books
The cover artist is John Schoenherr

Ace - Brunner, Meeting At Infinity

The Day Of The Shield by Antony Alban
This version was published in 1973 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Alban, The Day Of The Shield

The Stochastic Man by Robert Silverberg
This version was published in 1976 by Fawcett Gold Medal Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Silverberg, The Stochastic Man

A Sea Of Space edited by William F. Nolan
This version was published in 1970 by Bantam Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Anthology, A Sea Of Space

Other Worlds Of Clifford Simak by Clifford Simak
This version was published in 1962 by Avon Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Clifford Simak, Other worlds Of...

Tomorrow Is Too Far by James White
This version was published in 1971 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Dean Ellis

White, Tomorrow Is Too Far

The Syndic by Cyril M. Kornbluth
This version was published in 1955 by Bantam Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Kornbluth, The Syndic

Day Of The Giants by Lester Del Rey
This version was published in 1964 by Airmont Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Del Rey, Day Of The Giants

6 thoughts on “A Package From The USA

    • unsubscriber 18/02/2015 / 6:56 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Admiral, glad to heat that you enjoyed ogling my juicy covers! It’s always nice to spot a few unknown Powers covers, especially these days with people being so on the ball.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Bernie 19/02/2015 / 10:31 am

    What a fabulous little haul you got there! That cover for “The Syndic” is a surprise, it looks a lot like some of the Panther covers from the late 50s and I was amazed to see it is a Powers.

    Take care, Bernie, xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 19/02/2015 / 5:12 pm

      Hi Bernie,

      Glad you liked the covers, it was indeed a rather lucky find that I was justifiably pleased with. I was really surprised after finding out that The Syndic cover was by Powers too, not like his usual work at all but still a very good piece.

      Hope you’re well, take care xx

      Like

  2. lcmt 19/02/2015 / 7:36 pm

    A Cupful of Space is deservedly at the top of this post. I love the title, and the author’s name is fantastic in itself. But I keep coming back to the John Brunner cover. The cover as a whole first impressed me as a rather pedestrian design, but the figures have an attractive finish, like matte-glazed clay.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 19/02/2015 / 7:53 pm

      A Cupful Of Space was the book I was actually searching for in that very edition, dear old Mildred deserves her place on top of the pile as it is a cracking piece of artwork from Richard Powers once again. Likewise, the Brunner title had me wavering but I’m so glad I added it to the list now. The cover is rather Dali-esque I think and actually very well painted. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

