The Two Dimensional World Of Ace Doubles, Part Three

This is the third instalment of this article, the first part appears here and the second part can be found here.

The oldest active specialty publisher of science fiction and fantasy Ace Books originally developed the unique double volume, back-to-back format better known as tête-bêche binding to take further advantage of the public’s soaring thirst for science fiction from the mid 1950s and on throughout the 1960s.

I’ve watched these Ace Doubles get snapped up sharpish, sometimes for ridiculous sums of money through a variety of online retailers so when I see a reasonably priced copy I buy without haste. This has allowed me to build a modest collection of such books over the years and so I thought I’d share another selection of books with you, five more this time so that’ll be another ten covers to ogle. Also included in each listing is the original Ace serial number as ever, feel free to drop me a comment if you’re enjoying this series.

Nebula Alert by A. Bertram Chandler
(Serial Number G-632)
This version was published in 1967 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

G632 - Chandler, Nebula Alert

The Rival Rigelians by Mack Reynolds
(Serial Number G-632)
This version was published in 1967 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Peter Michael

G632 - Reynolds, The Rival Rigellians

Into The Alternate Universe by A. Bertram Chandler
(Serial Number M-107)
This version was published in 1964 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

M107 - Chandler, Into The Alternative Universe

The Coils Of Time by A. Bertram Chandler
(Serial Number M-107)
This version was published in 1964 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

M107 - Chandler, The Coils Of Time

Monsters In Orbit by Jack Vance
(Serial Number M-125)
This version was published in 1965 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

M125 - Vance, Monsters In Orbit

The World Between And Other Stories by Jack Vance
(Serial Number M-125)
This version was published in 1965 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

M125 - Vance, The World Between

The Mad Metropolis by Philip E. High
(Serial Number M-135)
This version was published in 1966 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

M135 - High, The Mad Metroplolis

Space Captain by Murray Leinster
(Serial Number M-135)
This version was published in 1966 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Gray Morrow

M135 - Leinster, Space Captain

Earthrim by Nick Kamin
(Serial Number 66160)
This version was published in 1969 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Panos Koutrouboussis

66160 Ace, Earthrim

Phoenix Ship by Walt and Leigh Richmond
(Serial Number 66160)
This version was published in 1969 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

66160 Ace, Phoenix-Ship

9 thoughts on “The Two Dimensional World Of Ace Doubles, Part Three

  1. Postcard Cafe 19/03/2015 / 8:24 am

    A great set.
    Nebula Alert is simply classic!
    The woman on the cover of Monsters in Orbit looks a little too relaxed or maybe the monsters are her pets!
    Have you any covers lined up to mark the eclipse?
    Best wishes, Mr C

    Like

  2. unsubscriber 19/03/2015 / 8:36 am

    Thanks Mr C, glad you enjoyed my selection particularly Nebula Alert which I think is a real beauty.

    Another explanation why the woman on the cover of Monsters In Orbit appears so relaxed is that she is safe behind a thick glass window and therefore feels at ease in the company of said monsters.

    I don’t have anything planned for the eclipse. Good call though, I’ll have to check my bookshelves.

    All the best, unsubscriber.

    Like

  3. Bernie 19/03/2015 / 3:34 pm

    You do very well dating these Ace books, in their publishing information they always put the original date, never (to the best of my knowledge) acknowledging reprints/reissues. That never bothered me when I was buying them, though, like you if I spotted an Ace Double that I could afford I bought it!! Only one of this bundle is previously owned by me, Nebula Alert c/w Rival Rigellians. I’d love to be able to put a full listing together, maybe one day, how about you?care, Bernie xxx

    My favourites this time are the Gray Morrow Jack Gaughan coupling, lovely stuff!!

    Take

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 19/03/2015 / 4:06 pm

      All the dates are supplied by the eternally helpful people who contribute to the ISFDB, I would be lost without their knowledge. As for putting a definitive list together, I wouldn’t dare tackle such a mammoth task although I believe one does exist somewhere. Glad you enjoyed this helping, there’s a final serving next week before I move on to my Digit collection in a month or so – another minor obsession of mine.

      All the best Bernie, look after yourself xxx

      Like

  4. lcmt 22/03/2015 / 5:23 pm

    The Rival Rigelians is my favorite, something about that deliberately bad drawing is appealing. The middle spaceman seems to be wearing a scarf, it could be something else (an arm?), but I love the idea that he is wearing a scarf with his space helmet. A fashionista among spacemen. I like his face, it reminds me of Kevin Spacey (oddly apropos name).

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 22/03/2015 / 8:11 pm

      Glad you enjoyed this one, I’d like to think that Kevin has donned his scarf to fend off the harsh Rigellian chill too. They were a well dressed lot these vintage spacemen, make no bones about it. All the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Guy 15/07/2015 / 7:48 pm

    Hi

    I am a big Ace Doubles fan and always try to buy any I don’t have, I find the length congenial for my diminshed attention span, the new 3 vol 1000 pages per book, series, just exhaust me and I only need a certain amount of back story on the characters. I do still read Banks or Asher but many other large tomes scare me. I have happily read John Brunner or Philip K Dick in Ace Doubles and been well rewarded. Often I will read authors I have never read before or even heard of because they are in one of my ACE Doubles, the The Mad Metropolis by High in this post was one of them and I quite enjoyed it. I am not a huge Freas fan but I have always loved the cover for Nebula Alert.

    Regards
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/07/2015 / 7:53 pm

      I’m the same Guy, always on the hunt for Ace Doubles to boost my collection. I’m not always a fan of both novels but they’re just such dinky little reads it seems a shame not to pick one up because I don’t think I’ll get on with both stories. I’m not a reader of modern sci-fi so thankfully don’t get bogged down in books you need three hands to pick up and read! There’s plenty of covers in this particular series if I remember so enjoy the others too. Best regards.

      Like

Leave a Reply

