The Two Dimensional World Of Ace Doubles, Part Four

Over the past month I’ve been writing about the wonderful Ace Books and their innovative use of the tête-bêche binding technique which allowed two books to be included in a single volume, one on each side. Preceding parts of this article can be found here, here and here.

My collection is looking a little ransacked now but there are still enough books for another outing. And so for my fourth and final instalment of this series, I thought I’d include six books which results in 12 twelve covers. Once again, I’ve included the original serial number in each listing for completeness as I have done in the past. I hope these selections have been of some interest and enjoyment for you, feel free to head over to the comments and share your thoughts.

The Rites Of Ohe by John Brunner
(Serial Number F-242)
This version was published in 1963 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

Ace F-242 (a)

Castaways World by John Brunner
(Serial Number F-242)
This version was published in 1963 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

Ace F-242 (b)

The Golden People by Fred Saberhagen
(Serial Number M-103)
This version was published in 1964 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

Ace M-103 (a)

Exile From Xanadu by Lan Wright
(Serial Number M-103)
This version was published in 1964 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

Ace M-103 (b)

The Gates Of Time by Neal Barrett Jr.
(Serial Number 27400)
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

Ace 27400 (a)

Dwellers Of The Deep by K. M. O’Donnell
(Serial Number 27400)
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

Ace 27400 (b)

The Ship From Outside by A. Bertram Chandler
(Serial Number F-237)
This version was published in 1963 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

Ace F-237 (a)

Beyond The Galactic Rim by A. Bertram Chandler
(Serial Number F-237)
This version was published in 1963 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

Ace F-237 (b)

Alton’s Unguessable by Jeff Sutton
(Serial Number 76096)
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

Ace 76096 (a)

The Ships Of Durostorum by Kenneth Bulmer
(Serial Number 76096)
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

The Ships Of Durostorum by Kenneth Bulmer

The Seed Of Earth by Robert Silverberg
(Serial Number F-145)
This version was published in 1962 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

Ace F-145 (a)

Next Stop The Stars by Robert Silverberg
(Serial Number F-145)
This version was published in 1962 by Ace Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Ace F-145 (b)

12 thoughts on “The Two Dimensional World Of Ace Doubles, Part Four

  1. Bernie 25/03/2015 / 12:18 pm

    I’m sad this series is on its last chapter (but sooo looking forward to seeing the Digit series), so many wonderful old covers, most I’ve never seen before, there must have been hundreds over the years, and you’ve gone out on a high with Emsh AND Josh Kirby. An “oops” moment though, “Exile from Xanadu” is by Emsh, his sig is on it.

    Hard to choose a favourite this time, it’s a tie between that gorgeous furry alien hiding behind the rocks on “Seed of Earth” and the brilliant BEM on “Dwellers of the Deep”, all those tentacles, the propeller beanie, the SF mag it’s reading, wonderful stuff. Actually I think the BEN has it 🙂

    Thanks again for a terrific post,

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/03/2015 / 7:47 am

      I thought I’d see the series out on a high with these covers Bernie, so many good ones it’s tough to pick a favourite. Glad you’ve enjoyed the past month of Ace Doubles though, still working on the Digits but am looking at starting that series in May all being well.

      I’ll forgive your typing error (of course) in exchange for spotting my mis-labelling of Xanadu – his sig is so plain to see I can’t imagine how I cocked that one up! I’ll put things right straight away though.

      Good to hear from you and what your favourites were, it’s always a pleasure to have you around the place Bernie.

      Look after yourself xxx

      Like

  2. Bernie 25/03/2015 / 12:19 pm

    Aaarrrgghhh, can’t edit that last message, it is, of course, the BEM not the BEN that wins, damned poor typing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Postcard Cafe 25/03/2015 / 8:30 pm

    Thanks for sharing yet another great set. Among my favourites in this little bundle are Castaways World and the simply wonderful Next Stop The Stars. Cheers and best wishes from Mr C.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. unsubscriber 26/03/2015 / 7:52 am

    Thanks for your comment Mr C, great hearing from people who have enjoyed this series as I initially thought it might be too much in one go. You chose one of my favourites there too, Next Stop The Stars. I’ve always been a sucker for a robot! Hope you’re well, all the best.

    Like

  5. lcmt 26/03/2015 / 7:47 pm

    Great finale! Bravo. And thank you, Mr. Unsubscriber, for giving me a new appreciation of the pure innocence of early science fiction and its gauche art.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 26/03/2015 / 7:53 pm

      The pleasure has been all mine, I’m glad you’ve enjoyed these covers and their subsequent reappraisal. I’m dearly hoping that you find something you’ll want to sample, appropriate or deform into your own work somehow. It’s good to know you’re coming along for the ride, there’s lots more to show you yet! All the best.

      Like

      • lcmt 26/03/2015 / 8:26 pm

        Your hope has already been answered. I sampled: https://unsubscribedblog.wordpress.com/2015/02/22/a-badger-book-on-sunday-with-the-reverend-r-l-fanthorpe-chapter-18/ – for: https://vraic.wordpress.com/2015/03/10/glp-carp-fish-whiskers/ – and: https://vraic.wordpress.com/2015/02/26/glp-all-the-curls-of-destiny/ – If the process from source to end result had not involved so many steps, I might have tried to make a demonstration post. Plus I don’t have a lot of time to re-trace my steps. I am usually scrambling down the road of another project.

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 26/03/2015 / 8:53 pm

        Wow, what an honour it is to have one of my humble covers act as a source of inspiration, however obscured or degraded in your final pieces it may be. I’ll be staring at those panels for the rest of the night now trying to work it out! Huge thanks, let’s hope I can keep on posting covers that catch your eye and stick to your brain. All the best as ever.

        Liked by 1 person

      • lcmt 27/03/2015 / 1:16 am

        This image actually became a lot more degraded than I originally wanted. When I first looked at that cover, I could see a lovely positive/negative tension. When I simplified it and stripped out the color, I ended up with a very satisfying black entity against the white, a kind of yin/yang shape. But after a few more manipulations, it became rather unexciting. I could have gone back a few steps and come at it from a different angle, and I may still try that. At the time, the voice of the universe was saying, “Go forward and see what happens.” And I can’t resist that voice because I know I am going to see something I had not imagined. (That’s a metaphor, I don’t really hear voices.)

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Guy 15/07/2015 / 8:04 pm

    Hi

    Another good post I am not sure I have Exile From Xanadu by Wright but I will have to get it with that Emesh cover and a tag line like “The man the monsters made” it becomes a must have.

    Regards
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/07/2015 / 8:58 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Guy, you’re more than welcome. I’m a sucker for an Emsh cover myself too so that made Xanadu twice as desirable to me! (Love a good tagline too come to think of it.) All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

