The Two Dimensional World Of Ace Doubles, Part Four And A Half

Following on from last month’s rather successful Ace Double posts I decided that I should quickly add these recently acquired titles to the pile. I came across these books purely by accident last week as I was buying a number of Badger titles at the time and was contacted by the eBay seller Arthur about paying too much postage for the individual books. He mentioned I might offset payment by choosing one or two other books he was about to list including a host of Ace Doubles. After a little fan dangling sending photos via eBay (it’s just not allowed my friends!) I ended up choosing the following four titles which Arthur priced extremely reasonably for me after taking into account my overpaid postage on the last batch. The postie was good enough to knock at my door yesterday bearing the package containing these goodies.

It’s sellers like Arthur and a few others I’ve dealt with regularly in the past (Bernie and Julian, I’m looking at you!) that continue to give me a warm feeling inside and make me happy to be a part of this small but caring community.

This post is therefore dedicated to the real five star sellers of eBay, long may you continue to offer up your wares!

Listen! The Stars! by John Brunner
(Serial Number F-215)
This version was published in 1963 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

Listen! The Stars! by John Brunner

The Rebellers by Jane Roberts
(Serial Number F-215)
This version was published in 1963 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

The Rebellers by Jane Roberts

The Puzzle Planet by Robert A. W. Lowndes
(Serial Number D-485)
This version was published in 1961 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

The Puzzle Planet by Robert A. W. Lowndes

The Angry Espers by Lloyd Biggle Jr.
(Serial Number D-485)
This version was published in 1961 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

The Angry Espers by Lloyd Biggle Jr.

The Duplicators by Murray Leinster
(Serial Number F-275)
This version was published in 1964 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

The Duplicators by Murray Leinster

No Truce With Terra by Philip E. High
(Serial Number F-275)
This version was published in 1964 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

No Truce With Terra by Philip E. High

Our Man In Space by Bruce W. Ronald
(Serial Number M-117)
This version was published in 1965 by Ace Books
The cover artist is John Schoenherr

Our Man In Space by Bruce W. Ronald

Ultimatum in 2050A.D. by Jack Sharkey
(Serial Number M-117)
This version was published in 1965 by Digit Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

Ultimatum in 2050A.D. by Jack Sharkey

6 thoughts on “The Two Dimensional World Of Ace Doubles, Part Four And A Half

  1. Postcard Cafe 01/04/2015 / 7:57 am

    Our Man in Space wins out for me. However if we were going for an award for the cheesy least inspiring title for a book it would have to be The Duplicators. Admittedly they have tried to increase the audience expectation with some rather nice typeface but I suspect it is a story about the highs and lows of an early xerox machine 🙂

    Like

    • unsubscriber 01/04/2015 / 10:01 am

      He he, a sort of ‘Carry On’ photocopy repairmen in space! That’ll have me chuckling all day that will Mr C. Glad you enjoyed the other books, especially Our Man In Space.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bernie 02/04/2015 / 12:54 am

    That cute hat the girl’s wearing on The Puzzle Planet looks like something Princess Beatrice would wear to a wedding, well ahead of its time 🙂 My favourite this time is The Rebellers.

    What a fantastic haul, and a great seller, and you’ve even got one of the very old red/blue spines, you’re a lucky man, and well deservingof it as well.

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/04/2015 / 1:27 pm

      Thanks Bernie, I new you’d recognise the older blue spines. Great comment on the hat too, these SF fashions were really trailblazing in their day!

      Hope you’re well, take care xxx

      Like

  3. Guy 15/07/2015 / 8:19 pm

    Hi

    Great Haul, I read Listen! the Stars! not long ago when going through my John Brunner Ace Doubles, the cover reminded me of the motifs from the old Outer Limits TV shows, and I enjoyed it. Of course if you collect and read vintage SF you may be said to have eclectic tastes in literature. And I purchased The Puzzle Planet not long ago because with that hat, implant, flying saucer on her head how could any sane individual pass it up?

    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/07/2015 / 9:04 pm

      Thanks again Guy, glad you’re enjoying these posts tonight (or day depending on your time difference.) Good to hear you’ve read and enjoyed some of these titles too. The Puzzle Planet does have a pretty wild cover doesn’t it – I knew when I saw it on eBay I’d have to win the bidding come hell or high water! Us SF readers do have a very wide choice of styles within our genre, on Sundays I like to read my vintage pulpy Badger titles and during the rest of the week I can vary between old school and new wave with the best of ’em! Best regards as ever.

      Like

Leave a Reply

