Digital Digits Six. The Series Finale

If you’re a regular visitor to this humble enclave of SF goodness then you’ll know by now that this ongoing mini-series is dedicated to books published by the Digit imprint which in turn was owned by Brown Watson Ltd. If this is your first visit to unsubscribedblog then you’ve missed all the action so far, I would most definitely suggest going back to read the other parts if you enjoy this one. You’ll find them by using these handy links; One, Two, Three, Four & Five.

And so, like all good things our dalliance with my digitised Digits must come to an end. It’s been a good run but I think just one last selection of random covers is in order to finish off the series. I have a stash of other Digits which just didn’t quite make the cut this time but I’m sure they’ll be cropping up somewhere in future posts.

I do hope that you’ve enjoyed this six week residency by Digit Books and have had a few nostalgic moments or maybe looked on amazed at some of these early SF covers. It’s been great putting this all together and creating a small record of some of my favourites. Thanks again to all who have sent titles my way in one form or another, it’s much appreciated.

Please drop by and leave a comment to let me know if you’ve enjoyed this series or indeed anything really, I’m always grateful for your feedback.

Ok, now on with the show…

The Forgotten Race by Julius P. Newton
(Serial Number R747)
This version was published in 1963 by Digit Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Forgotten Race by Julius P. Newton

The Secret Of ZI by Kenneth Bulmer
(Serial Number R515)
This version was published in 1961 by Digit Books
The cover artist is Brian Lewis

Digit - Bulmer, The Secret Of ZI

Beyond The Spectrum by Martin Thomas
(Serial Number R864)
This version was published in 1964 by Digit Books
The cover artist is Sam Peffer

Beyond The Spectrum by Martin Thomas

When The Moon Died By Richard Savage
(Serial Number R674)
This version was published in 1963 by Digit Books
The cover artist is uncredited

When The Moon Died by Richard Savage

The Changeling Worlds by Kenneth Bulmer
(Serial Number R758)
This version was published in 1963 by Digit Books
The cover artist is uncredited

The Changeling Worlds by Kenneth Bulmer

Nuclear Subtraction by Colin Roberts
(Serial Number R683)
This version was published in 1963 by Digit Books
The cover artist is Robert A. Osborne

Nuclear Subtraction by Colin Roberts

8 thoughts on “Digital Digits Six. The Series Finale

  1. lcmt 28/05/2015 / 8:19 pm

    My hands-down favorite is The Secret Of ZI! That striped shirt, that hat on the evil guy’s head, the letter Z, a color scheme of red, yellow and black! I am susceptible to all that!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/05/2015 / 8:28 pm

      I’m glad you chose that title Lin, it’s got something going for it that manages to raise it up above the usual pulp cover. Maybe it’s the strength of the colour palette or any of the things you mentioned but it’s a good, strong image. Glad you liked this one and shared your reasons.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bernie 29/05/2015 / 10:54 am

    Whilst agreeing with both your comments on the Zi cover, my own favourite is The Forgotten Race, it’s just so bad it’s good!! So many clichés in 1 painting, and the alien , well, words fail me!

    Oh boy I’m gonna miss this series now it’s ended, thankyou sooo much for the last few weeks, I can’t wait for your next selection 🙂

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Like

    • unsubscriber 29/05/2015 / 4:25 pm

      Ah Bernie, it’s because of people like you that I put these things together. I love to read your comments, it makes me endlessly happy to know you’ve enjoyed my humble offerings. Rest assured, there’s more to come. Take good care of yourself, all the best xxxx

      Like

  3. Postcard Cafe 30/05/2015 / 8:05 am

    Nuclear Subtraction looks like they have hit the bottle and are partying hard. Meanwhile someone has carelessly forgotten they left the sausages on the barbecue! Not that I’ve ever been to parties like that…. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Guy 15/07/2015 / 8:45 pm

    Hi

    Great series I have never seen any Digitals in Canada that I can remember, so while one or two covers look familiar these incarnations are new. And I really enjoyed the older style
    depiction of space ships in the first couple of posts they reminded me of the early pulp magazine covers.

    Regards
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/07/2015 / 9:10 pm

      Once again, glad you enjoyed this series. I had a great time photographing all the books and putting the articles together. I never realised just how much of a fan of Digit books I was until I went through my library for this collection. Brown & Watson, the publisher behind Digit books was a small UK based company so I’d be surprised if many of them were distributed in other countries given the size of their operation. That’s where I come in though, so that readers such as yourself can enjoy these great title covers in all their glory! Best regards Guy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

