Bastards Of The Absolute by Adam S. Cantwell Via Egaeus Press

I last wrote about Egaeus Press back in May last year when I mentioned two of their fine tomes as part of an article about new books and strange tales (here). I was excited to receive an email a couple of months ago stating that they were about to publish several more titles and one in particular caught my eye, Adam S. Cantwell’s collection of short stories & novellas titled Bastards Of The Absolute. I duly put in my pre-order and waited for the book to arrive upon publication which happily was last month.

I’ve waited until now to write about this fine collection as I’ve just started reading it and have found the first few stories to be works of total brilliance in their dark, surreal and unsettlingly odd way. I knew nothing about the author and his work except from the blurb on the Egaeaus website which reads as follows;

“The stories in Adam Cantwell’s Bastards of the Absolute are richly imagined mysteries. They could be fairly equated with the works of Kafka or Borges if their prose were not so luxuriant and surprising at every turn.”

A quote from literary cult figure Thomas Ligotti no less!

The introduction by George Berguño also contains this passage;

“I predict that Adam S. Cantwell’s Bastards of the Absolute is destined to survive the passage of time. I predict also that the book that you, dear reader, are holding in your hands will join the ranks of the classics of strange fiction. Moreover, there are stories in this collection — stories such as ‘Face in the Wall’ and ‘Moon Paths of the Departed’ — which are masterpieces of the genre; stories that are destined to be reprinted time and again.”

Both very strongly worded pieces of praise for this collection of stories and its writer then.

And now to the book itself, it is a beautiful lithographically printed, 256 page sewn hardback with a stunning embossed wraparound cover and printed endpapers which are both by Eduard Wiiralt.

Bastards Of The Absolute Cover

Bastards Of The Absolute Endpaper

There are also a number of fascinatingly twisted black and white illustrations throughout by Charles Schneider, one of which is included as a postcard with initial copies.

Bastards Card

Bastards Illo1Bastards Illo2The artwork is absolutely sumptuous and I couldn’t help but feel that this just had to be an outstanding read because it looked so very good. I have not been proved wrong as yet. Egaeus Press are definitely one to watch as their output so far has been of such a high standard that it’s hard to see them succumbing to such vulgar things as the whims of market forces or seeing their quality control slipping any time in the future. Head over to their ‘morbid and fantastical’ website (here) to order a copy of this truly outstanding book but be quick as it is limited to only 250 copies.

8 thoughts on “Bastards Of The Absolute by Adam S. Cantwell Via Egaeus Press

  1. John C Nash 01/07/2015 / 9:33 am

    This is all very exciting. I’d not heard of Egaeus Press until a week or so ago when a Facebook friend (the eminent Johnny Mains) discussed another of their recent publications, A Soliloquy for Pan. And now we have them referenced here too! I really think I may need to update my reading matter, I rarely read much written past the 1970s and it’s rarer still for me to buy brand new books. These all look stunning though, time to join the 21st century. Thanks very much for link, terrific post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 01/07/2015 / 11:09 am

      Thanks for your kind word Mr Nash. I can highly recommend Egaeus Press and also Tartarus for their weird fiction, be sure to check out the link I included for the earlier article for more cues. I missed out on the pre-order for Soliloquy For Pan and now it’s sold out so I’m kicking myself! All the best.

      Liked by 1 person

      • John C Nash 01/07/2015 / 2:20 pm

        I did check out the link. Such utter loveliness! Do you ever get overwhelmed by the amount of books out there? I’m still trying to get to grips with all the pre-21st century stuff. Can everyone please stop writing/publishing new books for a few years so I can catch up in some small way? Please?

        Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 01/07/2015 / 1:24 pm

      I knew it would be Mr Lestaret. I’ll let you borrow it once I’m finished reading if you promise to keep it well away from the slavering jaws of Devo!

      Like

      • Lestaret 01/07/2015 / 1:37 pm

        Of course. The hell hound will be banished to the garden of dandelions for the duration…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

