A Little Gem From Corgi Books

I spotted this little gem on Ebay a few days ago and being a bit of a fan of Arthur C. Clarke’s work decided to pick it up as it was going for only a couple of quid. It arrived yesterday in the post and what a dinky little thing it is too, measuring as it does 16cm by 10.5cm making it a good centimetre shorter than standard paperback size.

The covers are great too with their two-tone block colour scheme, rocketships and molecular graphics – very fifties! I liked it so much that I thought I would sneak in an extra post this week and share it with you dear readers, hope you like it too. Let me know what you think in the comments.

The Sands Of Mars by Arthur C. Clarke
This version was published in 1958 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is John Richards

Clarke, The Sands Of Mars

The Sands Of Mars - Back

10 thoughts on “A Little Gem From Corgi Books

  1. Guy 17/07/2015 / 10:35 pm

    Hi

    You right it does have a fifties vide and the rockets ships the two tone cover really reinforces that.

    A very striking find.

    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 18/07/2015 / 4:51 am

      Thanks Guy, glad you liked it. As I said in the article, I was so happy with this find I couldn’t wait to share it on the blog! All the best.

      Like

  2. Bernie 18/07/2015 / 12:08 am

    That’s a Corgi Greenspine!! Have you got any more in your collection?

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 18/07/2015 / 4:57 am

      Now if there was anyone who I would have thought to know more about this one it was always gonna be you Bernie! I have no more of these little reduced size beauties in my collection and so it feels kind of lonely sitting there on the shelf by itself. I suspect I shall have to dig further into the ‘Corgi greenspine’ before long and try to secure some company for it – they’re such a dinky size! Hope you’re keeping well Bernie, take care too xxx

      Like

      • Bernie 18/07/2015 / 9:46 am

        I’m surprised! I don’t know as much about them as I’d like to, and they’re not easy to spot unless a seller specifies in the title/description. Book numbers are often GS—- or SS—-, but again I notice a lot of sellers don’t mention that, or the dimensions.

        Thinking someone somewhere must have written an article and/or produced a list, I Googled, and on the first page the first item is one I’m selling, (pricey ‘cos of what I paid, but e-mail me if interested in a deal). Several more references to that, but I did find 2 eBay sellers, “booksmoore” and “nickbuckler” might be worth a look.

        If you find any articles/lists yourself please let me know won’t you?

        Take care, Bernie xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 28/07/2015 / 2:41 pm

        Thanks Bernie, I’ve mailed you via eBay about the one you have for sale. Yes, tough to track down due to sellers not mentioning either size or the fact that they’re greenspine editions. I’ll check out the sellers you mentioned and see if I can come up with any more resources. Take care of yourself Bernie, all the best xxxx

        Like

  3. Joachim Boaz 19/07/2015 / 6:29 pm

    Yeah, a fantastic cover — I’ve read the novel but I’ve never seen this edition. I don’t think I own a single Digit edition.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lcmt 21/07/2015 / 11:54 pm

    It is wonderful how you find these things. I was given 2 boxes and 1 bag of old sci-fi paperbacks from the seventies and after I went through them, I had only 2 covers I liked, and they were doubtful.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/07/2015 / 2:54 pm

      I do spend an inordinate amount of time searching through a lot of rubbish to find the gold though Lin. Sometimes it gets disheartening and I have to take a break but occasionally I get rewarded by covers like this one and it all suddenly becomes worthwhile again x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

