A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 35

Rev Fanthorpe Frame

I must apologise for my sporadic posts on Sundays, it’s this weather you see. This sticky fingered heat isn’t conducive to ideal reading conditions for me in general, particularly with the fan running at my side. It affects my concentration too and so I’m painfully aware I’ve missed a few weeks just recently, I hope to redress the balance in the coming weeks though and give you the Badger satisfaction I know all you regular Sunday readers crave!

This week then has been given over to a title by Pel Torro who is none other than R. L. Fanthorpe and Harry O. Mansfield writing in tandem. Incidentally, I do wonder how these books got written by two or more people, I can’t help but think it would be a major distraction to have someone else working on a book at the same time. Just a side thought really…

And so here’s that front cover tagline in all its glory;

The robot’s claws, the death gas… but there was worse to come

What could be worse than those two untimely ends I wonder! The cover is a beauty and one of the rare Badger titles to feature a named artist of the day – and it shows! The robot in question is fabulous, his helmet and outfit in general are stunning examples of sixties design… and those claws too, great stuff! Utterly brilliant work from the always reliable Ed Valigursky. The robot stands menacingly over his victim who appears to be struggling in a miasma of sickly yellow death gas vapours. And what of the mystery which is locked away in that great steel cylinder in the background? I’ll just have to read on to answer this question and others raised by the back cover blurb.

I do hope you enjoyed this return to the weird and wonderful world of Badger books, I promise I’ll be back next week whatever the weather throws at me with more of what you love with your Sunday roast. Comments are, as ever welcomed and encouraged. I’ve a feeling that robot will spur a few of you on to share your thoughts!

World Of The Gods by Pel Torro
(Serial Number SF45)
This version was published in 1960 by Badger Books
The cover artist is Ed Valigursky

Badger - Torro, World Of The Gods

World Of The Gods - Back

6 thoughts on “A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 35

  1. Bernie 20/07/2015 / 9:30 am

    Another great memory, thanks 🙂

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/07/2015 / 2:43 pm

      Glad you enjoyed the cover Bernie, always great to hear from you. Look after yourself too xxxx

      Like

  2. Guy 20/07/2015 / 11:05 pm

    Hi

    This is a great cover, some of my favourite Ace Double covers feature Valigursky’s robots. I do wonder what kind of rights deal were worked out for the cover art as I have seen an number of the covers you feature on other ACE titles. I wonder if the illustrators peddled them to different publishers, possibly they could license them in both the UK and NA the way writers did with story reprints? This cover also appears on Andre Norton’s Secret of the Lost Race ACE D-381, I do not have my copy here.

    It was cool to see.

    All the best.
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/07/2015 / 2:46 pm

      Thanks for your reply Guy, glad you enjoyed this collection of books. It’s certainly odd that some of these cover pieces get repeated elsewhere, I think a lot of them were just pinched for different markets rather than licensed. I’ve got another small collection building up for the coming months so keep your eyes peeled! Best wishes as always.

      Like

  3. lcmt 21/07/2015 / 11:46 pm

    Okay, there is a lot that’s great about this cover, but I keep coming back to “I bet the guy looks damn sexy in that little crop top when he isn’t dying of yellow gas inhalation.”

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/07/2015 / 2:52 pm

      Glad you liked this one Lin, it’s one of my favourite Badger covers. The choking man is indeed sassily attired, one of the great things about books of this vintage. Crop top indeed! x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

