A Delivery From The U.S. Part One

When I have a little spare cash, I always head over to take a look at what my good buddy Otis has to offer on eBay. I have to wait until I have sufficient funds to make a larger purchase because I always know he’ll definitely come up with the goods like every time I’ve browsed his vast selection of titles. There’s never any point in buying just one or two books from the U.S. because of the ridiculous postage charges that most sellers levy but Otis calculates his payment by weight and so it makes total sense to negotiate a bulk buy to take best advantage of the final total.

A few weeks ago I found myself in that very position and so happily sat there with my iPad in my hand furiously tapping the ‘Watch’ button until I had created a decent sized list. This was then trimmed judiciously and an email sent to Otis requesting a postage quote. Given the time differences involved, he’s always on the ball and got back to me fairly promptly with a price – the deal was done!

I’m always shocked at how speedy the delivery of my order is too and this time was no exception, within a week the postie knocked at my door bearing a large cardboard box full of vintage treasures. Once inside I quickly ripped open the lid and sifted through my prizes like a container full of rare, delicate gems.

I’ve split the books into three parts for ease of viewing, here are the first six titles for your delectation. Comments at the ready…

What’s Become Of Screwloose? And Other Inquiries by Ron Goulart
This version was published in 1973 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

What's Become Of Screwloose? And Other Inquiries by Ron Goulart

The Infinite Cage by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1974 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Infinite Cage by Keith Laumer

Greener Than You Think by Ward Moore
This version was published in 1961 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Greener Than You Think by Ward Moore

Daughters Of Earth by Judith Merril
This version was published in 1970 by Dell Books
The cover artist is Robert Foster

Daughters Of Earth by Judith Merril

A Far Sunset by Edmund Cooper
This version was published in 1968 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

A Far Sunset by Edmund Cooper

The Shape Changer by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1973 by Berkley Medallion Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Shape Changer by Keith Laumer

8 thoughts on “A Delivery From The U.S. Part One

  1. Joachim Boaz 05/08/2015 / 11:57 am

    The Daughters of Earth collection cover is by Robert Foster — his style if very uniform across his SF career although sometimes uncredited.

    Keith Laumer got some of the best Powers covers — which is humorous as his is a rather middling author. For example, this gem!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 05/08/2015 / 12:02 pm

      Thanks Joachim, well spotted on that one. Your comment about Laumer being a middling author rings true from what I’ve read so far – great covers though! All the best.

      Like

  2. Bernie 06/08/2015 / 11:24 am

    What a great set, all amazing covers, and none I’ve seen before, in fact – none I’ve even read!! My favourite this time is the Kirby, not that that’ll be any surprise to you. It’s also the one I’d most like to read, I found Goulart to be an easy and amusing read.

    Thanks for sharing these.

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 07/08/2015 / 10:44 am

      Glad you enjoyed these Bernie, I knew you’d love the Kirby cover when I first saw it. I’ve never come across any of these titles either which is always the joy of buying books direct from the U.S. I’ve just got to schedule in some time to spend with them now! All the best as ever xxx

      Like

  3. Guy 06/08/2015 / 11:33 pm

    Hi

    As a Powers fan I have always liked the cover of A Far Sunset, and it has been in my to read pile for some time.

    I am looking forward to seeing Part Two.

    All the best.
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 07/08/2015 / 10:48 am

      Thanks for the comment Guy, you’ll have to share your thoughts about the book with me if you get to read it first – I have a very long list of titles to read at this point! More great covers to come from this batch over the next few weeks so I hope there are a few more to tempt you. Best wishes as always.

      Like

Leave a Reply

