A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 41

Rev Fanthorpe Frame

Another Sunday rolls around again which means another pick from the Badger shelf of my library for today’s reading pleasure. This week I’ve selected a title by Lionel Roberts which is of course the good Reverend Fanthorpe under another of his many pseudonyms. The tagline is as follows;

No one realised where the ship came from… Until too late

The cover depicts a classic Emsh astronaut complete with his marvellously imagined suit and helmet. Emshwiller paints these illustrations so damn well adding plenty of finely wrought detail to the main figure and this one is no exception. I love the blank expression on this guy’s face as a rocketship takes off in the background and all around him seems to be exploding in a hail of fire.

Join me next week for more Badger action and I’ll share another selection from library with you. Feel free to leave a comment if you enjoyed this week’s book.

The In-World by Lionel Roberts
(Serial Number SF37)
This version was published in 1960 by Badger Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

Badger - Roberts, The In-World

Roberts, The In-World (Back)

6 thoughts on “A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 41

  1. lcmt 30/08/2015 / 12:21 pm

    “plenty of finely wrought detail”–exactly! Emshwiller paints like a lapidarist. His covers are intricately carved cameos.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 30/08/2015 / 1:59 pm

      Thanks for the comment Lin, glad you enjoyed the cover. I’d never thought of Emsh as a lapidaries the before but I can see just where you’re coming from. All the best x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bernie 30/08/2015 / 1:47 pm

    A gorgeous cover, EMSH at his best, thanks for sharing.

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 30/08/2015 / 2:03 pm

      Glad you liked this one Bernie, I had a feeling it would appeal to you. All the very best to you xxxx

      Like

  3. Guy 02/09/2015 / 4:42 pm

    Hi

    This looks fun. Having fallen under your influence I have ordered, but not yet received my first Badger book, Through the Barrier by Pel Torro ( Lionel Fanthorpe ). Also since I am back from the cabin I looked through my shelves and found I have The Day the World Died by John E. Muller, published by Vega Books, Clovis California, which would be Badger Book SF 73. Also I remembered you found Conklin’s Big Book of Science Fiction a bit small, so I checked my hardcover edition, as I suspect you probably know, many of his anthologies were first released as hardcovers and then abridged paperbacks. The Big Book was the third of the hefty tomes he began releasing in the 1940’s, Released in 1950 it had 32 stories and 545 pages.

    Lastly I would like to add a link to your site on my SF blog, is this okay with you?

    All the best.
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 03/09/2015 / 2:02 pm

      Thanks for your comment Guy, glad to hear you’ve decided to pick up a few Badgers as they’re always a pretty good read in my humble opinion. Thanks too for your info regarding the Conklin title, I suspected it would be floating around in a larger hardback edition somewhere. Please feel free to add a link to your site, many thanks in advance for including me. I hope you continue to find my forthcoming posts of interest. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

