From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.18, The Return Of The Return Of Junior Unsubscriber

I’ve already let my twelve year old daughter, Junior Unsubscriber loose on my library on two previous occasions (here & here) and was quite impressed by her eventual selections despite the minor trails of destruction usually left in her wake. I thought I’d push my luck and try a third attempt at using this method for choosing a random selection of books but had to use chocolate-based bribery this time in order to secure her services for the venture. After her snack she duly rifled through the shelves and picked at a few odd piles of paperbacks that were stacked up awaiting my attention for a good half an hour before handing me the following books. There was surprisingly very little carnage this time around and mercifully no chocolatey fingerprints left anywhere so it was another job well done for the diminutive one.

I’m not sure she’ll fall for this ploy again, she’s repeated the trick on three occasions and is now demanding edible treats before work begins so this may well be the last we’ll see of Junior Unsubscriber. Still, you can’t tell which way things will go when dealing with such a wily young scamp so never say never.

Once again I have included some of her comments on each cover for some idea of why she eventually chose the books.

The Simultaneous Man by Ralph Blum
1973 – Panther
Cover art by Anthony Roberts

This man must have a really big headache if he has all those wires plugged into his brain.

Blum The Simultaneous Man

Corpus Earthling by Louis Charbonneau
No publication date printed – Priory
Cover artist uncredited

The people in the bubble are all nude except for the woman. She’s wearing a bikini which is alright.

Charbonneau Corpus Earthling

Nightfall One & Two by Isaac Asimov
These versions were published in 1971 & 1972 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Ken Sequin

I’ve found these weird and creepy Play-Doh faces, can I have both colours for my pick? Do you remember that big rocket we made out of Play-Doh with the aliens and… (descends into a ten minute reminiscence about some modelling fun we had one rainy Saturday afternoon. I begin to think that Junior Unsubscriber has lost all interest in the job at hand now as she requires a little prompting to continue.)

Asimov, Nightfall One & Two

Worlds Of Tomorrow edited by August Derleth
1967 – Four Square Books
Cover artist uncredited

This looks like a Catherine wheel. I like Catherine wheels, they’re my favourite fireworks. Except for sparklers. And rockets.

Derleth Worlds Of Tomorrow

Wild Talent by Wilson Tucker
This version was published in 1980 by Coronet Books
The cover artists are David Cox Studios

This man has lots of other little men running around inside his head and some are shooting at each other. I think he’s probably got a big headache too… and his eyes look weird.

 Tucker Wild Talent

6 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.18, The Return Of The Return Of Junior Unsubscriber

  1. Guy 11/09/2015 / 9:47 pm

    An interesting selection. The Asimov’s are more likely to give me the willies than conjure up memories of pleasant afternoon games. I do really like the Tucker cover and I am happy to see a Derleth anthology, I always hope for a story by his Arkham House partner Wandrei, and I found Strange Harvest in Worlds or Tomorrow lots of fun.

    All the best.
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/09/2015 / 7:30 am

      Thanks for your comments Guy, glad to hear you enjoyed this selection. All the best.

      Like

  2. lcmt 14/09/2015 / 2:30 am

    The gentleman on the Ralph Blum cover reminds me of the late great Peter Boyle, who enacted my favorite portrayal of Frankenstein’s monster, in Mel Brook’s Young Frankenstein. The Nightfall covers make me feel like getting out my Fimo.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/09/2015 / 7:36 am

      I had to check out your comment about the Blum cover on Google, I can definitely see the resemblance. The Asimov covers certainly reminded Junior Unsubscriber of breaking out the modelling clay too! All the best Lin.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Bernie 15/09/2015 / 10:38 am

    I just love Junior’s quirky comments! She seems to have inherited her dad’s liking for heads, if not skulls 🙂 Sorry about short and late comment. damned computer again!!!

    Take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/09/2015 / 12:16 pm

      Glad you liked the post Bernie, Junior Unsubscriber is certainly one on her own and knows what she likes when it comes to cover art. I can only bow to her fine selections. All the best xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

