From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.19, Five Great Covers

I’d started this week’s search for books with my usual open mind, casting around the shelves and pulling out titles at random to see what took my fancy when I decided I wanted to impose a little more structure this time. I had a few great covers in mind that I was desperate to share but needed a good supporting cast so the hunt was on. It took me a little longer than usual to finalise my selection but I feel that it’s a very good one, in my humble opinion of course. What do you think? As a bonus, it makes a great change to have each cover artist credited for once.

The Mind Net by Herbert W. Franke
This version was published in 1974 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

The cover painting on this book looks very much from the Richard Powers/Yves Tanguy school. Eternal thanks to Joachim over at Science Fiction and Other Suspect Ruminations (here) for putting me onto this title.

Franke The Mind Net

Four For Tomorrow by Roger Zelazny
This version was published in 1967 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

Zelazny Four For Tomorrow

The Cybernetic Brains by Raymond F. Jones
This version was published in 1969 by Paperback Library Books
The cover artist is Jerome Podwil

Jones The Cybernetic Brains

Century Of The Manikin by E. C. Tubb
This version was published in 1972 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

I just love the antiquated tagline on the cover of this title – “Beware the cryogenic lady from woman’s lib!”

Tubb Century Of The Manikin

The Steam-Driven Boy And Other Strangers by John Sladek
This version was published in 1973 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Colin Hay

Sladek The Steam-Driven Boy

8 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.19, Five Great Covers

  1. Joachim Boaz 01/10/2015 / 2:22 pm

    I am jealous of the Sladek — that is one expensive virtually impossible to find paperback in the US…

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 01/10/2015 / 2:26 pm

      I stumbled across it on eBay and paid around £5, I’d never seen that version before. Glad I picked it up now!

      Like

      • Joachim Boaz 01/10/2015 / 2:28 pm

        Hmm, there are reprint copies for 10 bucks on amazon — i’d have to dig deeper to find the original edition.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Joachim Boaz 01/10/2015 / 2:30 pm

        Hmm, it’s not so bad on abebooks… Perhaps it was another short story collection of his I was thinking of.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Joachim Boaz 01/10/2015 / 2:33 pm

        I ordered a copy for $5.50 from the UK — doesn’t look like the best condition, but, I am not a collector 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 01/10/2015 / 6:26 pm

        Glad to hear you found a copy of this one without too much effort Joachim, hope you enjoy reading it.

        Like

  2. Guy 18/10/2015 / 3:41 pm

    Hi

    I am not a huge Freas fan but these surreal landscapes with groups of figures wandering amid stylized rockets are always favourites however the Podwill frog really spoke to me. I showed my copy to my wife, who asked if the frog was really an important plot element. so I randomly opened to page 48 and read “We’ll have the frogs” he said “They can give us sight and sound and companionship. We have each other.” and I was hooked. I remembered a school play where my line was ” We have each other and the children” I would have preferred “we have each other and the frogs” it would have been so much better. So I had to read The Cybernetic Brains, my thoughts are on my blog.

    Thanks again for posting such neat stuff, I really enjoy hearing your thoughts on the books and looking at the covers.

    Regards
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 19/10/2015 / 6:55 pm

      Thanks for your comment Guy, glad to hear you enjoyed the covers especially the unusually brilliant Freas effort. I’m a big fan of The Cybernetic Brains too, the leaping frog certainly adds to the cover painting. I hope your wife was suitably convinced by your random book quotation as to the frog’s importance. I’ll have to nip over to your blog and read your thoughts on this one. Always a pleasure to keep on posting these covers, plenty more to come before the year grinds to a close. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

