Two More Little Gems From Corgi Books

A few months ago I wrote about picking up a dinky little Corgi Book from eBay (here) which measured 16cm by 10.5cm making it around a centimetre shorter than the usual size of a paperback. One of my regular readers and eBay seller Bernie mentioned in the comments that she’d got another one of these odd sized tomes for sale as well as giving me a few pointers to other sellers who might have similar wares in their listings. I duly purchased the book from Bernie and went on the hunt for more but found only one additional title for sale at a reasonable price.

Here are both the books in all their glory, it’s hard to get a handle on the reduced scale of these books but they really are stubby little chaps when compared to everything else around them on the shelves.

Many thanks to Bernie for the heads up on these two.

One In Three Hundred by J. T. McIntosh
This version was published in 1961 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is John Richards

McIntosh, One In Three Hundred

Crisis 2000 by Charles Eric Maine
This version was published in 1958 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is John Richards

Maine, Crisis 2000

6 thoughts on “Two More Little Gems From Corgi Books

  1. John C Nash 07/10/2015 / 9:46 am

    Yes, I have one of these stubby little chaps too (which is what I shall be calling them henceforth). Bradbury’s The Illustrated Man, also with wonderful cover art by John Richards.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 07/10/2015 / 3:43 pm

      Glad to hear you also have one of these fine wee stubbies amongst your collection Mr Nash, they certainly are dinky little fellows aren’t they? Thanks for the comment and all the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Joachim Boaz 07/10/2015 / 4:24 pm

    I love both — but then again, I am very partial to atom symbols that cover naughty bits (hahaha — the second cover).

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 08/10/2015 / 5:48 pm

      Thanks for the comment Joachim, glad you liked these covers so much. All the best.

      Like

  3. David Redd 28/10/2015 / 3:29 pm

    Nice recent posts on Digit too. I think all my early Corgi purchases (1957 or so) were your “stubbies” size, like the Fifties Ace Double paperback 6″ tall rather than 7″. They certainly had my Eric Frank Russell’s Men, Martians & Machines that size and probably my former copies of his Three to Conquer and Arthur C Clarke’s The Sands of Mars too. Maybe the odd J T McIntosh. My point is that I recall the “stubby” as Corgi’s standard format when I started buying them. After a while they grew taller and thinner. Regards, David

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/10/2015 / 9:01 pm

      Thanks for taking the time time to comment David, I’m glad to hear you’ve found some enjoyable posts here and hope to provide you with more over the coming months. I’m noticing more and more of these little Corgi stubbies now I’ve found a few titles so I think I’ll be making an effort to pick them up, keep your eyes peeled for future examples. It’s great to hear from someone else who has some of these great, oddly proportioned books in their collection. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

