From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.20, Cover Oddities

Searching through my bookshelves earlier for this week’s selection, I was happy to see so many fantastic covers adorning the books I have collected over the years. I have always tried to choose the edition of each title according to my favourite artwork wherever possible. Although having said this I have my fair share of oddities too and so I thought I’d assemble a small collection of books with slightly questionable or just plain wonky artwork. What are your thoughts on this matter – am I being overly harsh or too critical of the choices included here or are you too an aficionado of the downright strange? Let me know in the comments.

Cybernia by Lou Cameron
This version was published in 1973 by Coronet Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Cameron Cybernia

New Writings In SF 22 edited by Kenneth Bulmer
This version was published in 1974 by Corgi Books
The cover artist is Mike Little

Anthology New Writings In SF 22

The Hounds Of Tindalos by Frank Belknap Long
This version was published in 1963 by Belmont Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Belknap Long The Hounds Of Tindalos

In Deep by Damon Knight
This version was published in 1978 by Magnum Books
The cover artist is Chris Moore

Knight In Deep

A Plague Of Demons by Keith Laumer
This version was published in 1967 by Penguin Books
The cover artist is Alan Aldridge

Laumer A Plague Of Demons

8 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.20, Cover Oddities

  1. lcmt 15/10/2015 / 6:29 pm

    Wonderful post! I was enchanted at my first glimpse of the top cover, for Cybernia, which is breathtaking.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 15/10/2015 / 6:34 pm

      Thanks for your kind words Lin, I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed this post so much as it was fun to put together. The Cybernia cover is probably my pick of the bunch here too, it’s definitely a striking image. All the best x

      Liked by 1 person

      • lcmt 15/10/2015 / 6:40 pm

        It is not easy to use that typeface, which looks like a version of Courier New, which has a quality that is both delicate and utilitarian.It works great on the Cybernia cover. (It also happens to be one of my favorite typefaces.)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Guy 18/10/2015 / 4:21 pm

    Great stuff

    I have the same Hounds, I collect Lovecraft and Arkham House so even though I was taken aback when I saw the cover I had to get it. I have several of the New Writings in SF ,I have to admit none of the covers blow me away, I think yours might be my favourite. Plague of Demons I blogged about, I have copies with a Powers cover and a Meltzer cover, I think the Meltzer is my favourite, the entire plot is right on the cover. For Cybernia, the ISFDB database attributes the cover I have to Dean Ellis but I prefer yours. This was wonderfully grotesque selection and it was wonderful to see you had so many of the same titles.

    All the best
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 19/10/2015 / 7:10 pm

      Great to hear from you again Guy and nice to know that I’m not alone in owning some of these rather bizarrely covered books. I have Plague of Demons in the fabulous Meltzer cover as well as this odd version by Alan Aldridge, I had to have it because it was part of a uniform edition of works published by my beloved Penguin Books in the late 60s. Glad you’re still enjoying the blog, more of these stranger covers to come over the next two weeks. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

