A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 47

Rev Fanthorpe Frame

As Sunday arrives once more I find myself standing in front of the library shelves in a bid to find yet another Badger book to spend my day getting lost in. This time I’ve chosen a title written by the trio of R. L. Fanthorpe, John S. Glasby and A. A. Glynn or John E. Muller as the cover states, I seem to have an awful lot of books under this particular pseudonym. Let’s turn our attention to the ever present tagline shall we;

Part man part machine they possessed the worst qualities of both

I love the fabulously retro typography on this sadly uncredited cover which features a trio of rocket ships blasting off into space from a cratered and mountainous alien world. The rockets are of a classic sixties cigar shaped design with stabilising fins, brilliantly vintage stuff.

So, onwards with the book now. I’ll have another selection for you next week so please do join me then, feel free to share your thoughts with me in the comments as usual.

Beyond The Void by John E. Muller
(Serial Number SF112)
This version was published in 1965 by Badger Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Badger - Muller, Beyond The Void

Muller, Beyond The Void (Back)

4 thoughts on “A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 47

  1. Teece 18/10/2015 / 2:35 pm

    Howdy Lee,

    Reading the plot summary on the back cover, it would seem that The Rev was a fan of The Bard, if I’m remembering my Eng Lit reading of The Tempest correctly. Rosper = Prospero, Darmina = Miranda, Canbail = Caliban, etc. SF does seem to like this play. That great SF movie Forbidden Planet was partly a reworking of The Tempest of course, and there are a number of JG Ballard stories with a similar set-up of characters and situations. Shakespeare, Godfather of Science Fiction?? Any road, always a treat to see these great covers, Teece.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 19/10/2015 / 6:23 pm

      Thanks for the comment Teece, I hadn’t picked up on the Tempest connection so well spotted on that one! You may well be right about The Bard’s many and varied SF influences, I don’t think I’m well-versed enough in his oeuvre to appreciate the links fully though so I’ll leave that to more knowledgeable folk such as yourself. Glad you enjoyed the covers old chap, looking forward to another post from your good self in the not too distant future.

      Like

  2. Guy 18/10/2015 / 3:54 pm

    Hi

    I love the retro rockets and I have always been a big fan of inexplicable electro-magnetic disturbances. Parts of the plot seems eerily familiar but that is part of the SF tradition updating a cheesy old classic with rayguns, robots and rockets.

    Happy reading
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 19/10/2015 / 7:00 pm

      Thanks for commenting Guy, always a pleasure to hear your thoughts. See the above comment from Teece, it would seem that this novel is an updated reimagining of Shakespeare’s Tempest so there’s your cheesy old classic. I love these old retro rocketships on the cover, I’m a big fan too. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

