From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.22, Yet More Cover Oddities

Over the past few weeks I have featured a number of covers which fall squarely into the category marked ‘strange’ (here and here). And so once again I find myself pulling out books with slightly dodgy and altogether questionable cover art. It’s not that any of these are particularly bad examples (well, maybe just the one), they’re all just a bit strange, campy or downright odd.

I’ll leave the final word to you and your impeccable tastes dear readers, feel free to leave a comment.

Times Without Number by John Brunner
This version was published in 1975 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Don Punchatz

Brunner Times Without Number

So Bright The Vision by Clifford D. Simak
This version was published in 1976 by Ace Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Simak So Bright The Vision

Caviar by Theodore Sturgeon
This version was published in 1968 by Sphere Books
The cover artist is David Davies

Sturgeon Caviar

Dagger Of The Mind by Bob Shaw
This version was published in 1981 by Pan Books
The cover artist is George Underwood

Shaw Dagger Of The Mind

Some Of Your Blood by Theodore Sturgeon
This version was published in 1967 by Sphere Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Sturgeon Some Of Your Blood

5 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.22, Yet More Cover Oddities

  1. Postcard Cafe 28/10/2015 / 3:45 pm

    Great collection. Times Without Number is my favourite. I like the ray gun! 🙂 Best wishes, Mr C

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/10/2015 / 9:03 pm

      Thanks for your kind words Mr C, great to hear you enjoyed this post as I had my doubts about presenting such odd covers at first. All the best.

      Like

  2. Guy 02/11/2015 / 6:07 pm

    Hi

    I showed the same Brunner to my wife a few weeks ago, and we both felt the cover a bit odd. I have Caviar with a nice Darrell K Sweet cover based on Microcosmic God which I really like, and I was tempted this week by a copy with a lovely Powers cover. I find this one a bit literal, and ugly for me, as is the Some of your Blood cover. The Shaw is quite cool in a disturbing kind of way which is of course good.

    Another interesting series of covers.

    Regards
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/11/2015 / 5:09 am

      Thanks again for your comments Guy, glad you enjoyed this collection. I totally agree with your views on the Caviar and Blood covers, the Brunner and Shaw titles are certainly both just plain odd. There’ll be a final selection to come this week so stay tuned for more bizarre artwork. All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

