From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.23, A Final Selection Of Cover Oddities

I’ve chosen several collections of bizarre and downright odd covers over the past three weeks now (here, here and here) but there’s always room for a few more on the pile I reckon. I have to say that I do have a bit of a soft spot for these kind of oddities and so have a variety of similar covers lurking in my library which may (or may not) surface at some other point.

Your thoughts on these cover designs are as ever encouraged and indeed wholeheartedly welcomed;

Echo Round His Bones by Thomas M. Disch
This version was published in 1979 by Panther Granada Books
The cover artist is Peter Goodfellow

Disch Echo Round His Bones

Turning On by Damon Knight
This version was published in 1969 by Sphere Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Knight Turning On

Watchers of the Dark by Lloyd Biggle Jr.
This version was published in 1970 by Panther Books
The cover artist is Ray Ginghofer

Biggle Watchers Of The Dark

The Two-Timers by Bob Shaw
This version was published in 1971 by Pan Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Shaw The Two-Timers

Caves Of Fear by Patricia Morton
This version was published in  1968 by Lancer Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Morton Caves Of Fear

6 thoughts on “From The Library Of The Unsubscriber No.23, A Final Selection Of Cover Oddities

  1. John C Nash 04/11/2015 / 10:34 am

    Excellent selection as always. And you may have solved a problem which has been annoying me for ages. I have a 1967 Panther edition of Lovecraft’s Dagon & Other Tales and I’ve always wondered who the uncredited cover artist was. It looks very, very similar to the work on the cover of Watchers of The Dark so I’m off to investigate Ray Ginghofer further. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/11/2015 / 11:36 am

      Many thanks for the kind words Mr Nash, glad you enjoyed this final selection of oddities. I also have a copy of the Panther Dagon you mentioned and it certainly does look very similar in style to the Ginghofer cover, maybe you have something there. All the best as ever.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Postcard Cafe 05/11/2015 / 12:41 am

    What a great selection of covers. All very different and each with their own charm (although I’m not sure charm is necessarily the right word!). Watchers of The Dark is great and I’m sure there is a Babapapa in there somewhere! Caves of Fear is brilliant with definite hints of a Bond movie opening sequence. Perhaps replace “Easy Eye” with “Golden Eye” and put a gun in the figures hand and this could be a Bond book. Having said that I’m not sure a Bond girl would be called Caroline! The very fact that is called Caroline made me smile. I hope she made it out of the cavern of terror so that she can continue her career in modern dance…! I would love to have seen the designers brief for this cover!
    If they are all as good as this one I want to see more Easy Eye covers…
    Thanks for sharing.
    Best wishes, Mr C 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 10/11/2015 / 6:31 am

      Thanks for the comments Mr C, great to hear that you enjoyed these covers particularly Caves of Fear. You certainly make a great point about the Bond movie connections. All the best.

      Like

  3. Guy 11/11/2015 / 7:04 pm

    Hi

    I liked the bright colours on the Disch and the Knight, and loved the Biggle, I was intrigued by the mention of a Dagon with a possible Ray Ginghofer cover, I googled around and found copies where he is named as the cover artist. This may be something I need for my HPL collection.

    Great thought provoking selection as always.
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 13/11/2015 / 11:03 am

      Glad that you enjoyed this selection of covers Guy, particularly the Biggle. I have a copy of the Ginghofer Dagon as part of of my Lovecraft collection, it was a chance find on eBay which cost about five pounds so should be easy for you to find cheaply. Good luck in your search and all the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

