A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 51

Rev Fanthorpe Frame

The time has come once again to make my usual weekend choice from the Badger shelf of my library and so it has fallen to Pel Torro to provide the action. Torro is of course the duo of R. L. Fanthorpe and Harry O. Mansfield working under an alias. Here comes that all-important tagline;

He was the first to return from the death zone, could he survive?

Badger stalwart Harry Fox turns in yet another great cover image portraying a somewhat dejected looking astronaut hovering above a young couple apparently fleeing from a futuristic domed city. Despite the modernity of the structures and the astronaut’s space-age get up, the couple are wearing distinctly retro outfits which are very much of their time for when the book was first published.

Now to discover if our hero can indeed survive his return from the death zone. More great Badger cover art to come next Sunday so please join me then if you enjoyed this post. Feel free to share your thoughts in the comments too.

The Return by Pel Torro
(Serial Number SF101)
This version was published in 1964 by Badger Books
The cover artist is Harry Fox

Badger - Torro, The Return

Torro, The Return (Back)

4 thoughts on “A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 51

  1. Postcard Cafe 16/11/2015 / 2:02 am

    Great cover artwork and beautifully delivered with your wonderful book cover capture lens craftsmanship.
    Thanks for sharing with me a world that would otherwise not exist.
    Keep ’em coming…
    Best wishes
    Mr C 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/12/2015 / 9:00 am

      Thanks so much for the kind words Mr C, I’m glad to hear you’re still enjoying the posts. Plenty more covers still to come so keep it here. Best wishes as always.

      Like

  2. lcmt 17/11/2015 / 8:06 pm

    I love the idea of a sidereal-chron, and I found out they make sidereal watches! They seem horribly expensive to me, but I found a Constellation Watch at Sharper Image that is real cool. Not that I’m going to spend $189 on a watch, when I don’t even wear watches, but I’m just glad they’re out there.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/12/2015 / 9:03 am

      I certainly didn’t know these existed Lin so thanks for sharing that piece of information with me. I don’t wear a watch either these days preferring instead to get the time from my iPhone. It’s strange how things change over the years. All the best Lin x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

