More Two Dimensional Goodness From Ace Books

Back in March and April of this year I published a series of posts featuring all of the rather fabulous Ace Double titles that I had on my library shelves at that time. The series ran for five weeks and showcased a total of fifty six individual covers from such artists as Ed Emshwiller, Kelly Freas, Jack Gaughan, Ed Valigursky and a multitude of other luminaries. It was fantastic to see all of these wonderful examples of the tête-bêche binding technique popularised by Ace Books together in one place.

Since those articles were published however, I’ve been lucky enough to pick up several more of these great books and so I thought I’d share them here over the next two weeks. This is the first set of six covers for your viewing pleasure, I’ll post a half dozen more next week. I hope that you’ll enjoy these as much as the initial series, please feel free to leave a comment and let me know what you think.

A Harvest Of Hoodwinks by Robert Lory
(Serial Number 52180)
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Gray Morrow

Ace 52180 Lory, A Harvest Of Hoodwinks

Masters Of The Lamp by Robert Lory
(Serial Number 52180)
This version was published in 1970 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

Ace 52180 Lory, Masters Of The Lamp

The Unteleported Man by Philip K. Dick
(Serial Number G-602)
This version was published in 1966 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Harry Schaar

Ace G-602 Dick, The Unteleported Man

The Mind Monsters by Howard L. Cory
(Serial Number G-602)
This version was published in 1966 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

Ace G-602 Cory, The Mind Monsters

The Man Without A Planet by Lin Carter
(Serial Number G-606)
This version was published in 1966 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Peter Michael

Ace G-606 Carter, The Man Without A Planet

Time To Live by John Rackham
(Serial Number G-606)
This version was published in 1966 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

Ace G-606 Rackham, Time To Live

3 thoughts on “More Two Dimensional Goodness From Ace Books

  1. Guy 22/11/2015 / 5:23 pm

    Hi

    This is a great feature, I really like the looks of the Dick. I checked and I don’t seem to have it so I will be looking for a copy.

    Happy Reading.
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 04/12/2015 / 9:23 am

      Thanks once again for your kind comments Guy, it makes all the effort in putting these posts together each week worthwhile knowing that they’re giving a few readers some pleasure. I’m glad you mentioned the PKD title, I think that one is my favourite cover of this batch. I was surprised to learn recently that there are quite a few Dick titles hiding amongst the Ace Doubles, I’ve not come across many at all in my searches so I suspect they’re a little harder to come by. Good luck in finding this particular book Guy, let me know if you manage to find a copy. All the best as always.

      Like

Leave a Reply

