A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 54

Rev Fanthorpe Frame

It’s that time of the week to brew a nice cup of tea and pull out a Badger book from the shelves before settling down on the couch for some uninterrupted reading action. Today’s selection is by Pel Torro which is of course R. L. Fanthorpe and Harry O. Mansfield in disguise. Here comes the tagline;

They had waited since the Beginning, now the END was at hand

The cover is great and features some astronauts, a futuristic domed city and yet another one of Badger’s much loved disembodied heads ringed by a halo in the centre. I love the figure’s shoulder length locks and pointy goatee beard which makes him look more than a bit hippyish!

Best dive in now before my tea gets cold and read on. There’ll be more Badger goodness for your viewing pleasure next weekend so join me again then, feel free to share your thoughts in the comments.

Through The Barrier by Pel Torro
(Serial Number SF91)
This version was published in 1963 by Badger Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Badger - Torro, Through The Barrier

Torro, Through The Barrier (Back)

8 thoughts on “A Badger Book On Sunday With The Reverend R. L. Fanthorpe, Chapter 54

  1. lcmt 06/12/2015 / 3:23 pm

    Wow. This cover had an immediate impact, and then on closer examination, I was fascinated by the painter’s choice of techniques. The treatment of the head is very effective, with the striations and bloody color.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 07/12/2015 / 10:56 am

      Glad to hear you enjoyed this one so much Lin, I think it’s a great example of the kind of constant inventiveness of artists employed by Badger at the time. It’s just a shame the piece is uncredited as a lot of similar covers were. All the best x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. John C Nash 06/12/2015 / 6:33 pm

    I love the oblique layout of the back cover blurb, I don’t remember seeing one like that before.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 06/12/2015 / 7:00 pm

      Thanks for your comment as always Mr Nash, glad to hear you enjoyed this week’s choice. The rear cover layout is pretty unique on this book, I always thought that Badger books had great backs so I decided to start including them some time ago. Just a couple left to read before I hit the end of the shelf now so stay tuned. All the best.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Joachim Boaz 06/12/2015 / 9:44 pm

    I like the graphic on the back! The text over the image is particularly successful in this case…

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 07/12/2015 / 11:15 am

      Thanks for your appreciation Joachim, it would seem that several people enjoyed this week’s rear cover design. All the best.

      Like

  4. Guy 12/12/2015 / 12:42 pm

    Hi

    I just finished Through The Barrier, I was very happy when I saw it was your choice for this week as it is the only Badger I have. It was an interesting read as my first Badger Book. I did not expect the ad for Joan the Wad, and the poem in lieu of a funeral service was different, one of the aspects of older SF that gives you a sense of the period. I did like ending. I have to say I am impressed with the energy you have brought to the project.

    All the best
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 12/12/2015 / 4:26 pm

      Thanks for the kind words Guy, great to hear you accompanied me on this weekend’s reading quest and enjoyed the story too. It’s always an honour to have company on these literary journeys. Just a few more Badgers left for me to read now, whatever will I do in the new year? All the best.

      Like

Leave a Reply

