Off The Shelf; John Brunner

It sometimes amazes me whilst browsing through the shelves of my library just how many titles I have by particular authors. Recently I realised that I have almost forty books penned by John Brunner although it has to said that his work is relatively easy to find on the secondhand market as he was such a prolific writer in his day.

The ISFDB (here) lists a total of sixty two novels, some two dozen collections and countless more short stories to his credit. It makes my rather modest stash seem tiny and incomplete just looking at those figures. Still, I continue to read and buy more Brunners all the time because on the whole I do enjoy his writing. I thought I’d dip into my collection and select a number of my favourite covers to share here.

Feel free to drop me a comment and let me know what you think of my choices. Maybe you too have a large number of books written by a specific author, tell me what’s lining your library shelves.

The Sheep Look Up
This version was published in 1976 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Murray Winkelman

The Sheep Look Up by John Brunner

Now Then
This version was published in 1965 by Mayflower-Dell
The cover artist is Jacks

Now Then by John Brunner

Double Double
This version was published in 1969 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Double Double by John Brunner

The Stone That Never Came Down
This version was published in 1975 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Kelly Freas

The Stone That Never Came Down by John Brunner

The Dreaming Earth
This version was published in 1963 by Pyramid Books
The cover artist is John Schoenherr

The Dreaming Earth by John Brunner

The Long Result
This version was published in 1966 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Hoot Von Zitzewitz

The Long Result by John Brunner

The Stardroppers
This version was published in 1972 by Daw Books
The cover artist is Jack Gaughan

The Stardroppers by John Brunner

To Conquer Chaos
This version was published in 1964 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Ed Emshwiller

To Conquer Chaos by John Brunner

Stand On Zanzibar
This version was published in 19761 by Arrow Books
The cover artist is uncredited

Stand On Zanzibar by John Brunner

Born Under Mars
This version was published in 1977 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Michael Herring

Born Under Mars by John Brunner

9 thoughts on “Off The Shelf; John Brunner

  1. John C Nash 13/01/2016 / 2:07 pm

    Some splendid artwork there, Mr. Scriber, not to mention the typography. Bizarrely, The Dreaming Earth cover looks as though it could be a still from Altered States!

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 13/01/2016 / 2:20 pm

      Glad to hear you enjoyed the post Mr Nash, good call on The Dreaming Earth cover too. I’m working on a few more of these Off The Shelf features to follow so plenty more great cover art to look forward to in the coming year. All the best as ever my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lestaret 13/01/2016 / 9:29 pm

    Nice collection! Especially like Double Double, and isn’t that David Bowie on the right of Born Under Mars? I understand that he was a bit of a space dude…

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 13/01/2016 / 9:37 pm

      Thanks Mr Lestaret, glad you enjoyed this selection of covers. I’m pleased you saw Bowie on Born Under Mars too, it was the first thing I noticed when I picked it up and is my small tribute to the great man.

      Like

  3. lcmt 20/01/2016 / 3:40 pm

    Even though I never read it, The Sheep Look Up (with its black and green first edition hard cover) was a touchstone for my reading as a teenager. It sat on an eye-level shelf at the end of the row where I entered the sci-fi section in the local public library. The cover and title seemed rather dour to me then, and I was never motivated to actually pick up the book and read it. Yet it became a friendly harbinger to my discovery of other books. Many years later, I found it discarded in a library sale, and I was compelled to rescue it. I have it somewhere among all my shelves, stacks and boxes of books. I still have not read it, but it is a book of mystical significance to me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 21/01/2016 / 5:23 pm

      I’m very impressed to hear that you own a copy of the 1972 first edition of this great book Lin, I’ve spent years trying to obtain one for my collection, mainly for the striking cover art. It was never to be though as when the odd copy did surface it was always way too expensive for me to consider buying. You should definitely hunt the book down and give it a read, the story is brilliantly inventive and totally plausible in an apocalyptic, dystopian way. All the best as always x

      Liked by 1 person

      • lcmt 23/01/2016 / 2:14 am

        I doubt my copy is worth a great deal, it might not be the first printing of the first edition, which is the most desirable “true” first ed. And it is a former library book. I don’t know how it is in the UK, but here public librarians can be very damaging to books. They stamp, mark up, and tape books with awful cellophane tape. When a library discards a book, someone stamps its pages with “DISCARD” in large letters, and often rips out the first page. However, the one great thing is the story now intrigues me, so when I encounter my book one day, I will be delighted to have a decent reading copy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 23/01/2016 / 1:30 pm

        I have a couple of ex-library books in my collection which are in very good condition despite their age, they both have a stamp card affixed to the inside and have thankfully been covered well. It’s a shame that some libraries feel the need to deface the books they discard rather than passing them on to another owner who would gladly cherish such a volume. I’m sure that you’ll enjoy this one when you finally get round to it Lin, I just hope that the first page has been left in place for you! x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

