Latest Covers By Richard Powers

Regular readers of this humble blog will already know that I’m a huge fan of Richard Powers and his stunningly modernist cover art. Because of this, I always keep a close eye on eBay auctions, in secondhand bookshops and various other sources for good examples. Despite the fact that I have a huge number of Powers covers in my library, I am always amazed to find myself stumbling over books which I have never seen before and am therefore compelled to add them to my collection.

A few months ago I was browsing the online store of a US eBay seller that I follow when I came across a number of such titles. I was astonished to see so many in one place and all with a very reasonable asking price too. I immediately made a selection, agreed a postage charge with the buyer and set about waiting for my box of beautiful books to arrive.

Some weeks later, a courier knocked at my door bearing a parcel from the States and I eagerly tore into it to reveal a dozen or so pristine novels with eye popping cover art. I thought I’d share the first batch with you as they all feature paintings by the hugely talented Mr Powers. I’ll be hoping to add a few more books like these to my collection during 2016.

I hope that you enjoy this selection, please feel free to share your thoughts in the comments as always.

Beyond Infinity by Robert Spencer Carr
This version was published in 1954 by Dell Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Beyond Infinity by Robert Spencer Carr

The Metal Monster by A. Merritt
This version was published in 1957 by Avon Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Metal Monster by A. Merritt

Re-Birth by John Wyndham
This version was published in 1955 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Re-Birth by John Wyndham

The Winds Of Time by Chad Oliver
This version was published in 1958 by Pocket Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Winds Of Time by Chad Oliver

Star Short Novels edited by Frederik Pohl
This version was published in 1954 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

Star Short Novels edited by Frederik Pohl

The Unsleep by Diana and Meir Gillon
This version was published in 1962 by Ballantine Books
The cover artist is Richard Powers

The Unsleep by Diana and Meir Gillon

9 thoughts on “Latest Covers By Richard Powers

  1. Joachim Boaz 27/01/2016 / 12:52 pm

    Ah, I’ve never seen the Unsleep cover! Or heard of the book/authors! I want it! (any good?)

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 27/01/2016 / 1:17 pm

      Glad to hear you liked The Unsleep Joachim, I’ve not got round to reading any of these titles as yet but then they’re all fairly recent additions. Good luck in your search and all the best.

      Like

  2. John C Nash 27/01/2016 / 2:10 pm

    These are absolutely stunning! That Wyndham cover especially, I take it that Re-Birth is a US title for The Chrysalids?
    And that Unseen cover!! Beautiful. My wife just said “That must be the same artist who did the cover for Hinton’s Outsiders”. I just checked and it is too (we have a poster of The Outsiders cover on the wall).
    Terrrific post,thanks for sharing these.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 27/01/2016 / 2:26 pm

      Why thank you for the kind words Mr Nash, I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this latest batch of Powers artwork. Re-Birth is indeed the US variant of The Chrysalids which I already had in the classic orange Penguin livery but I jumped at this because of the stunning cover art. I wasn’t aware that Powers had also done Hinton’s Outsiders but then he was astonishingly prolific during his lifetime. I’m sure I’ll be posting more of his work in the coming months so do keep an eye out. All the best my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 27/01/2016 / 8:51 pm

      I thought you might enjoy these covers Mr Lestaret, Powers was indeed ahead of his time in so many ways. All the best as ever.

      Like

  3. Guy 27/01/2016 / 9:53 pm

    Hi

    I have to agree with the crowd, I love Powers and I am intrigued by the Unsleep, I have never heard of the Gillons.

    Regards
    Guy

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 28/01/2016 / 7:23 am

      Thanks for your comment Guy, glad to hear you enjoyed these covers too. I did a bit of digging for the Gillons whilst putting together this post and discovered that The Unsleep was their only novel. All the best as ever.

      Like

Leave a Reply

