Audio Sequence, February 2016

Unsubscribed Audio Sequence Feb 2016

Post updated with new links

This past month has seen me digging deeper into my large collection of psychedelic LPs and so I thought I’d use this exploration as a basis for my February audio sequence. Unlike last month’s mix, this one has a more thematic flow being sourced from a single set of influences which I hope you’ll enjoy just as much.

I’ve chosen lesser known examples of this fine genre and have included tracks recorded by bands from the UK and US in addition to countries not usually associated with this movement such as Spain, Italy, Brazil, France and Turkey.

Once again I’ve decided not to include a tracklist, preferring to let the music to speak for itself instead. So just hit up the link below to download the mp3 file, throw it onto your computer or player of your choice and let the resulting sounds massage your temples.

Feel free to drop me a comment and let me know what you think or if you have any queries about my choice of tracks. I’ll be back in March with the next instalment of this series.

February 2016 Download Link

Last month’s audio sequence enjoyed a great deal of attention, particularly in Singapore and is still available to download from the following link;

January 2016 Download Link

6 thoughts on “Audio Sequence, February 2016

  1. John C Nash 03/02/2016 / 5:00 pm

    Brilliant! I’ve managed to download this one. I’ll listen to it later and get back to you!! Thanks very much for doing these, Mr. Scriber, it’s very much appreciated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 03/02/2016 / 5:07 pm

      Wonderful news, I’m glad to hear that we managed to iron out the technicalities. You’re more than welcome of course Mr Nash, it’s a pleasure to put these sequences together and very satisfying to know that people are enjoying them. I shall look forward to your comments in due course, I suspect this one will most certainly tickle your psychedelic fancy. All the best old chap.

      Liked by 1 person

      • John C Nash 03/02/2016 / 8:34 pm

        Man alive, that was remarkable!!!
        I know there’s a real skill in compiling this sort of thing and you certainly have it. Consider my psychedelic fancy well and truly tickled (I made the mistake of thinking I could listen to this while working, now I feel peculiar and still have my work to do).
        That final Sweetwater track is amazing but what is that incredible piece which begins at 08:12? I’ve never heard anything quite so, errr…psychedelic!
        Thanks for the experience.

        Liked by 1 person

      • unsubscriber 03/02/2016 / 8:59 pm

        Thank you so much my friend, those are very kind words indeed. I’m extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed my humble efforts this month and hope that your peculiar feeling is short lived, it’s a fairly common occurrence when exposed to music of such psychedelic intensity. The track beginning at 8:12 is titled Astral Abuse by an outfit called Alpha Beta culled from their only release – a 7″ single from 1971. It was co-written and produced by none other than Greek heavyweight Vangelis and recorded in France following the breakup of his prog rock outfit Aphrodite’s Child which also featured the vocal talents of Demis Roussos. I shall of course award you bonus head points for identifying the Sweetwater track which closes the sequence. I’m currently working on the next mix which has a much more experimental feel to it, I shall naturally look forward to hearing what you think. Happy listening Mr Nash, your feedback is much appreciated.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. lcmt 05/02/2016 / 11:53 pm

    I am listening to this right now, have been listening for about half an hour. I love it. All of the songs are unfamiliar to me (no surprise, I have explored so little territory outside MOR pop)–but the mix, which is seamless, has a 1968 vibe that I know and love.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 07/02/2016 / 12:46 pm

      I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed this mix too Lin, it was certainly culled from a very specific timeline of releases from my music library so your connection to that vibe is spot on. I hope that my next sequence has something to tickle your sonic fancy as it seems to be progressing along a rather experimental path. All the best x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

