Ace On Sunday #7

Ace Double Header

It’s Sunday once again and so I’m making a trip to my library shelves to choose a brand new Ace Double book for today’s reading pleasure. This week I thought I’d dip into a recently acquired batch which were all published in the early seventies and have pulled out a volume containing two novels by Swedish author Sam Thore Jerrie Lundwall.

First up from serial number 58880 is No Time For Heroes which bears the following tagline;

Survival technique for a one man planet team-run!

This doesn’t really give too much away regarding the storyline and so here’s an extract from the blurb inside the cover;

“There’s no time for heroes like the present,” said General Superhawk, as he was relieved from his laundry duties to head the spaceship’s invasion of the untouched-by-human-hands-or-feet planet, which had been dead for 200,000 years.

“This is absolutely no time for heroes” said the planet’s central brain computer which had, in its long, long loneliness, peopled its planet with fabled literary creatures created from its monstrous protoplasma vats.

“I’m no hero!” screamed the small, fat man with the moustache as he was bullied onto the planet as the ship’s Number One scout.

Intriguing stuff for sure. The novel features a sterling piece of artwork by Josh Kirby depicting a mechanical insect with a humanoid head and rather psychedelic eyes. The landscape in the background of the painting is filled with bizarre structures amongst which stand a number of robotic figures. It’s a typically brilliant effort from Kirby who is rapidly becoming one of my favourite SF cover artists.

The time has now come to discover how this novel plays out, accompanied as ever by a steaming hot cup of tea. I hope that this wonderful vintage book cover appeals to you as it does me, let me know what you think as always in the comments. I’ll be back next Sunday to flip over this book to find out what lies on the opposite side so join me then for more Ace Double action.

No Time For Heroes by Sam J. Lundwall
(Serial Number 58880)
This version was published in 1971 by Ace Books
The cover artist is Josh Kirby

58880 - No Time For Heroes by Sam J. Lundwall

5 thoughts on “Ace On Sunday #7

  1. Bernie Evans 21/02/2016 / 11:00 am

    Hiyah!! Still here, still reading, saying little or nothing. Had to comment this time, though. Josh Kirby!!! Go Josh, loved your comment. Stay safe and take care, Bernie xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 21/02/2016 / 11:08 am

      Hey there Bernie, wonderful to hear from you again and know that you’re still following the blog. I was thinking of you when I wrote this post actually, knowing that you’re a huge Josh Kirby fan. I really have been enjoying his work of late and am constantly on the lookout for his cover art. I do hope that you’re keeping well, you must drop me a line sometime soon and we can catch up as it’s been ages since we last spoke – so much going on! Thanks for your comment, there’s more Kirby to come next weekend so I’ll hopefully see you then. Take care Bernie, best wishes x

      Like

  2. John C Nash 21/02/2016 / 9:23 pm

    Excellent! You can’t beat a Josh Kirby cover. I have a few in my collection but nowhere near enough. Looking forward to seeing the flipside next week.
    All the best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • unsubscriber 24/02/2016 / 11:43 am

      Thanks for your comment Mr Nash, glad to hear you’re a Kirby fan too. I’ll be revealing another of his odd cover paintings next Sunday which I’m sure you’ll appreciate. Best regards as ever my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

